CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Technical Articles
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 22-01-06, 16:20   #1
VL_RB25DE
torque is better
 
VL_RB25DE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-10-05
Location: NSW, Deniliquin (near echuca/shepparton)
Car: 95 vr Berlina wagon - 74 hq ute blue 6
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to VL_RB25DE
Vl Fuel Gauge Fix

If your fuel gauge has been playing up when it reads 1/4 or lower than this may help..
this was done on a std Berlina dash with s2calais inserts
OK to the fix
tools required


1. remove the dash from the vehicle follow the following link to help with removal.
removing dash link

2. remove the upper indicator lights (low batty blinkers etc etc) there are 5 screws as out lined in the following pic


3.remove the clear cover on the dash, there are 4 screws up top and 4 screws down low as per the following pic


4. this next picture shows the dash with the clear cover and lights removed, it also shows the next step in removing the tacho needle, i used a fork. the digital camera died at this point, so don't mind the blue drawing. the blue is where the fork would go. u can also see little marks, they polish off easily and can not be seen when reinstalled, also the orange circles are the 2 screws to un do as well, the small screw drivers works a treat, $2.95 from coles (yes i know 9oclock i bought them tho)


5.OK the next step is to turn the dash over (carefully) and remove the small nut retaining the oil pressure gauge in. once nut is off pres lightly and the gauge unit will pop out


6.should now look like this

the 2 clips can now be pushed out.

7.now these clips are what we are after, they need to be bent so a good contact can be achieved. this is what they are meant to look like. sorry about the pic i took about 40 and this is the best

these clips have to be bent toward each other and also the wing part, circled in blue here, they need to be bent toward the point


8. reinstall gauge unit making shore the clips are back in place and look like they are making good contact if not repet....

9. replace the clear cover and light unit. re fit back to vehicle...

10. thank you for reading this and i hope this helps you
__________________
i reject your reality and substitute my own!
VL_RB25DE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-06, 17:04   #2
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
do you know what that little transistor looking thing is. you have it circled in one of the pics. what does it do?
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-06, 17:07   #3
MadVK308
I LOVE THE SOUND OF VN's
 
MadVK308's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-08-04
Location: QLD, . . .
Car: 5 speed VLT Berlina, VXII Clubby
Trader Rating: (23)
Send a message via MSN to MadVK308
Good job mate.

Could a Mod resize the pics though?
__________________
MadVK308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-06, 17:22   #4
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
i tried it, my fuel guage still dont work properly, but my oil pressure stays on now lol

it use to go to zero on idle, and then go to normal as i accelerated, now it stays on...

wierd
.
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-06, 17:28   #5
MadVK308
I LOVE THE SOUND OF VN's
 
MadVK308's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-08-04
Location: QLD, . . .
Car: 5 speed VLT Berlina, VXII Clubby
Trader Rating: (23)
Send a message via MSN to MadVK308
probably means its screwed..
__________________
MadVK308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-06, 17:36   #6
ATMO_BT1
CT Allstar
 
Join Date: 04-07-04
Location: Sydney, Northern Beaches
Car:
Trader Rating: (29)
what was your fuel gauge doing before you did this?

My car runs out as soon as it goes below a 1/4
__________________
ATMO_BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-06, 12:05   #7
VL_RB25DE
torque is better
 
VL_RB25DE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-10-05
Location: NSW, Deniliquin (near echuca/shepparton)
Car: 95 vr Berlina wagon - 74 hq ute blue 6
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to VL_RB25DE
this fix probley wont work for all and was meant for a starting point

its for when the gauge drops out when the tank level hits approx 1/4
its due to Resistance over the 2 pins

that blue circle around the transistor type thing, its the voltage regular i think its what keeps the dash at a constant voltage the circle wasn't meant to be on that diagram and has no relevance
__________________
i reject your reality and substitute my own!
VL_RB25DE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-06, 20:11   #8
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
cool. i tried to fix mine but didnt work. mine will drop to zero no matter how full the tank is. it is very intermittent and will drop down to zero and back constantly, but when it reads it is pretty accurate. when you knock the dash it will come back up again. but not always.

i might try and run a new wire from the plug directly to the back of the guage and see if that fixes it.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-06, 22:46   #9
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
my fuel guage sometimes shows how much fuel i actually have, other times it shows less then what i do have...

or sometimes it goes completely to empty... so who knows...very annoying though
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-01-06, 23:03   #10
deadlyvl
Player
 
Join Date: 05-08-05
Location: NSW, Western Suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (4)
had the same prob with ours. pulled the pcb off and reflowed the soldered joints as they had gone dry. found they were all cracked around the pins.
reflowed em all fuel guage now works perfect and am actually getting a spped sensor signal so the box is now working properly too.
good result for an hours work!
deadlyvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 15:44   #11
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
What I did today is remove the PCB and solder a new wire from the pin connection on the pcb to the part that the fuel guage goes into. This bypasses all the ciruitry on the pcb and it seems to work well now. only went on a 20min drive though.

I also soldered the thread for the gauge to the points on the pcb so it has a really good contact.

The only problem now is when i go around corners the needle moves abit about the width of the neede. I am not sure if this is caused by the fuel moving sideways in the tank or thether it is lateral force on the guage.

Last edited by VL_Nick; 28-01-06 at 16:41.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 16:41   #12
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)


VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 16:46   #13
VL_RB25DE
torque is better
 
VL_RB25DE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-10-05
Location: NSW, Deniliquin (near echuca/shepparton)
Car: 95 vr Berlina wagon - 74 hq ute blue 6
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to VL_RB25DE
thats a better idea, tho i stumbled apon the way i fixed mine cause i had a play fitting the s2 Calais inserts. as above pic would be better, now where is my soldering iron
__________________
i reject your reality and substitute my own!
VL_RB25DE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 16:52   #14
VL_RB25DE
torque is better
 
VL_RB25DE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-10-05
Location: NSW, Deniliquin (near echuca/shepparton)
Car: 95 vr Berlina wagon - 74 hq ute blue 6
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to VL_RB25DE
Quote:
Originally Posted by VL_Nick
What I did today is remove the PCB and solder a new wire from the pin connection on the pcb to the part that the fuel guage goes into. This bypasses all the ciruitry on the pcb and it seems to work well now. only went on a 20min drive though.

I also soldered the thread for the gauge to the points on the pcb so it has a really good contact.

The only problem now is when i go around corners the needle moves abit about the width of the neede. I am not sure if this is caused by the fuel moving sideways in the tank or thether it is lateral force on the guage.
did u find it works better now than ever?
this is what i was on about but i just didnt have the time and i couldnt find my iron
and i think the needel now moves cause its more sensitive and runs better, do u find it moves more up the top end of the tank or anywhere
__________________
i reject your reality and substitute my own!
VL_RB25DE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 17:05   #15
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
i havent had a chance to test it properly yet, only been on a 20 min drive where it didnt drop to zero once, but it wavers around when i go around corners. when i turn left it moves to the right a little bit and vice versa. once i fill it up and go through a tank i will know for sure if it fixed the problem.

now onto the oil pressure gauge. pretty sure its the sender though.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 20:26   #16
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
interesting what youve done vl nick...

what exactly is the PCB ?

from the pictures i know exactly what to do... im keen to try this because my guage is farked still , hardly ever works
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 22:13   #17
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
PCB = printed circuit board
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-06, 22:59   #18
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
ahhh.. thanks.. i will give your method a go, hope it fixes it

ill let ya know
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-06, 15:59   #19
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
ok, when i got back from the cruise i had a go at your idea vl nick

went for a 10 minute drive when i was done...guage did not turn off once...

noticed movement around corners... but once i straightened up the guage went back to normal...

fuel went down a little when i floored it... then went back to normal when i drove normally...

so far it seems its fixed...thanks alot man, it was really getting on my nerves

my guage barely ever worked, now its staying on
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-06, 20:43   #20
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
cool, glad to know i could help. I have been on more of a drive now and mine is the same. it hasnt dropped once. This seems to be the problem that causes it. just a dodgy circuit board. Everyone should try this if they have a dodgy gauge, which means anyone with a VL. lol
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-06, 20:55   #21
SYKO3L
OHH HERRO
 
SYKO3L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-06-04
Location: International, Overseas
Car: The Petercopter
Trader Rating: (14)
lol.... the needle moves around a bit, but it always goes back to normal ...

driven the car for about an hour now, still hasnt turned off once...

cant thank you enough lol... it sh!tted me so bad when it turned off all the time
SYKO3L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-06, 20:58   #22
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
yeah, im stoked i fixed mine dont have to hit the dash anymore to find out how much petrol i have
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-06, 14:14   #23
.loz
Gold Members
 
.loz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-08-04
Location: Melbourne, South
Car: Purple e36 328i manual coupe
Trader Rating: (5)
champion, this worked a treat!

VL_Nick: i had the same problem as you (the fuel guage will work/not work reguardless if its under 1/4 tank)

but this seamed to work fine. i fixed it as i had hardly any fuel, then went to fill up, worked no worries.
__________________
Every comment i make comes with a shitload of love.
<3
.loz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-06, 13:31   #24
coastvl
ATMO6
 
coastvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-02-03
Location: QLD, Maloolaba
Trader Rating: (11)
Send a message via MSN to coastvl
Good job guys. Fixed my problem no worries. Thanks
__________________
Can't sleep......clowns will eat me
coastvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-06, 14:12   #25
entropy
sleepa
 
entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-08-05
Location: VIC, northern
Car: sold it
Trader Rating: (3)
i tried the original posters way and had no luck.. decided to try this way and now it works perfectly.. only 45 mins work and now i wont run out of petrol in the middle of nowhere anymore thx

entropy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 22:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger