CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Engines, Turbos, Exhausts, Intercoolers
GRUNT Performance

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 07-05-17, 21:52   #1
mister.x
Player
 
mister.x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-10
Location: Sydney, Western Sydney
Car: VL Calais, M35 250t Stagea
Trader Rating: (0)
Turbo Lines

After reading almost every post about turbo lines on Calaisturbo and probably half of SAU I am still stumped.
The water feed hole on my block is smaller than 14mm, It has an ID of about 12.4mm Has anyone else seen this from factory?
__________________
8================D

Last edited by mister.x; 08-05-17 at 23:10.
mister.x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-17, 11:35   #2
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
Quote:
Originally Posted by mister.x View Post
After reading almost every post about turbo lines on Calaisturbo and probably half of SAU I am still stumped.
The water feed hole on my block is smaller than 14mm, It has an ID of about 12.4mm Has anyone else seen this from factory?
You sure you've got the right hole?

It is towards the back of the block and it is absolutely M14x1.5.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-17, 12:47   #3
mister.x
Player
 
mister.x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-10
Location: Sydney, Western Sydney
Car: VL Calais, M35 250t Stagea
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke57TT View Post
You sure you've got the right hole?

It is towards the back of the block and it is absolutely M14x1.5.
Pretty sure I have, its the one marked as coolant feed eye bolt on the image below?
Im going to drop the coolant and compare it to the one in the car at the moment will take an actual photo and upload it.
__________________
8================D
mister.x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-17, 14:57   #4
Curly
Player
 
Curly's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-03-09
Location: Perth, NoR
Car: Kimberly Bronze VLCT
Trader Rating: (1)
M14 doesn't mean the internal thread will have an ID of 14mm. Looking at this reference chart, http://www.carbidedepot.com/formulas-tap-metric.htm, an M14 x 1.5 thread is tapped from a 12.5 mm hole which lines up with what you have mentioned above.
.

Last edited by Curly; 09-05-17 at 15:01.
Curly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-17, 21:07   #5
mister.x
Player
 
mister.x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-10
Location: Sydney, Western Sydney
Car: VL Calais, M35 250t Stagea
Trader Rating: (0)
It's definitely not m14x1.5 I have a m14x1.5 banjo that I have triple checked and it's too big for the block. From the measurements I've taken and the using the thread gauge it looks to be 1/4 npt. I'm going to pull the bolt out of my current engine this weekend which I'm hoping is the right size and will prove I'm not crazy.
__________________
8================D
mister.x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-05-17, 22:25   #6
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
There is no NPT on the engine from what I can remember.

You sure you don't have an early RB30 block? I can't remember but it may not have the water feed etc

The return thread is 3/4 BSP.. 3/4 NPT threads in OK as it is the same TPI.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-17, 20:27   #7
mister.x
Player
 
mister.x's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-10
Location: Sydney, Western Sydney
Car: VL Calais, M35 250t Stagea
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke57TT View Post
There is no NPT on the engine from what I can remember.

You sure you don't have an early RB30 block? I can't remember but it may not have the water feed etc

The return thread is 3/4 BSP.. 3/4 NPT threads in OK as it is the same TPI.
Yeah I know. So today I pulled the plug out of my other engine and it was normal. So I have no idea what the go is with this block, my only thoughts are it could be one of the old blocks that someone has tapped out to the wrong size will just have to work with it. Thanks for your help anyway duke.
__________________
8================D
mister.x is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 16:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger