CalaisTurbo New Tags END Ignore Digital Niche Code -->
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Non-Turbo Discussion
Calais Turbo Advertising

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 23-06-04, 13:39   #1
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
Help car just stopped

okies, give u stats on what's happened,

last night on the way home from work, went into my street and the car just stopped managed to roll just into drive way and that was it wouldn't start

2 hours later needed to go out, so when down tried to start nothing nothing nothing, the just started, worked fine, when driving picked mates up etc, going like a beauty, then at the main street it just died, nothing just engine stopped,

pulled over, and it just started again strange (yes i have fuel) then as leaving pulled up at light and just died, but wouldn't started, waiting 10 mins started, and drove straight home!

this morning, started no problems, dropped mate off, as leaving going across main road just died, F U C K F U C K, just managed to get into the middle of the road, 1/2 a f u c k i n g hour later it started

WHAT THE F U C K is wrong, i have ordered a new cas today, any other idea's!
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 13:46   #2
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
Auto Electrician..

Not totally sure, whats happening when it dies, any strange revs or does it just cut and thats it.
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 13:49   #3
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
cut out, doesn't splutter or anthing, just stops (g/f car does the same thing) nothing, when you kicking it over you can smell un burnt fuel,
checked fuel pump etc, it's all working, just wont start
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 13:55   #4
vlt-dreamer
Player
 
vlt-dreamer's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Northern Victoria
Car: Black Territory
Trader Rating: (64)
could be cas - could have just **** itself ???

sounds maybe electrical? unsure matey...

good luck
__________________
Too old for VL's now...:(
.
vlt-dreamer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 14:43   #5
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
well all the electrics work, except for the bit that starts the engine :P and keeps it running :P
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 15:01   #6
Hingo
PM for GuardRolling
 
Hingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-03
Location: Brisbane, (Redlands)
Car: LEXUS IS200
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Hingo
maybe airflow meter connection. Sounds like it only happens when you pull up to a hault. Just make sure that it is holding in correctly and not half out or anything. If thats fine, maybe its the AFM itself...

If its not that id probably say CAS. You say you've ordered it, when will it arrive?
Hingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 15:03   #7
joel
Player
 
Join Date: 12-06-02
Location: QLD, Brisbane
Car: 88 VL Series 2 Auto (White)
Trader Rating: (1)
Its your battery!
joel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-04, 15:08   #8
Hingo
PM for GuardRolling
 
Hingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-03
Location: Brisbane, (Redlands)
Car: LEXUS IS200
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Hingo
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel
Its your battery!
Dont laugh at that comment it may be true. Check the terminals on the battery and see if they are on right for a start and that they are sitting on properly and not half sitting on...
Hingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 09:16   #9
NZ_BT1
VL Turbo BT1
 
NZ_BT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-04
Location: NZ, Christchurch
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to NZ_BT1
hey i had this problem and it was one of my fuseable link wires had melted and was shorting out. it would just randomly die then it was strangly go again until it did it again.
__________________
NZ BT1 VL Turbo
http://www.calaisturbo.com.au/showthread.php?t=131053
NZ_BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 09:18   #10
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
Car has full power and kicks over just doesn't start, airflow meter isn't need to start the car, just run's like ****! but thanks for the idea's, just hoping it's the cas,

It only happen's after i have been sitting at the light's, like couple of mins after I left the light's when the engine bay would be getting hot as there isn't much air flow
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 09:21   #11
NZ_BT1
VL Turbo BT1
 
NZ_BT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-04
Location: NZ, Christchurch
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to NZ_BT1
yes mine was exactly the same. it would stop when it was warm and then if you were sitting at lights or something then a lil bit down the road it would just die. and it would just wind over and wouldnt start. so yer it would pay to get the auto electrician to look at the fusable link wires aye
__________________
NZ BT1 VL Turbo
http://www.calaisturbo.com.au/showthread.php?t=131053
NZ_BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 09:33   #12
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
so it wasn't your CAS, fusable link wires ?????? what was the problem with yours
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 09:38   #13
NZ_BT1
VL Turbo BT1
 
NZ_BT1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-04
Location: NZ, Christchurch
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to NZ_BT1
well there is wires round the back of motor that link to the fuse box. one of them was broken and it cost me like $40 to fix. i just towed it to the auto electrician when it was dead and he found the problem after about an hour. if you take it to an auto electrician and say fusable link wire can you look at them please. he will know what your on about. its in the workshop manual i got from the library. but im in New Zealand so yer. But what had happend was it had melted with heat and it was shorting out on the metal causing it to die. it was a real **** aye. but i reccomend you get it checked to see if it is that. thats what was causing mine to die and it was diein the same way your is so yer. im only 16 coming on 17 my 2nd VL now just got my full licence so yay. but as soon as i got that fixed its been running ***in sweet as aye. now i just have to fix the clutch bit worn car has done 213kms now. but yer hope this helps aye

Cheers Aaron
__________________
NZ BT1 VL Turbo
http://www.calaisturbo.com.au/showthread.php?t=131053
NZ_BT1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 11:52   #14
Series2VL
Player
 
Series2VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-04
Location: International, Back in Melbourne
Car: Black/Charcoal S2 VR
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to Series2VL
definately sounds like cas to me, if not its some **** of an intermitten elictrical fault that will be damn hard to find
Series2VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 12:29   #15
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
when the car shorted out, did u still have power, and where able to kick it over?
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 12:42   #16
Series2VL
Player
 
Series2VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-03-04
Location: International, Back in Melbourne
Car: Black/Charcoal S2 VR
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to Series2VL
Quote:
Originally Posted by poohkies
when the car shorted out, did u still have power, and where able to kick it over?
it would try and kick over but wouldnt quite make it, like there was no spark...after 5-10 mins of trying eventually it would finally start up and drive for abit...then die again..repeat process till u get home lol
Series2VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 13:02   #17
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
yeap, that's what it's doing, not so regular yet, but my misses is like that, u can drive for 20mins, and after that it will take u 45 mins to get 100 meters! do the cas either way, if not well lest it's been changed and don't have to worry about it later!

thread can be closed !
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-06-04, 14:12   #18
anothervl
Player
 
Join Date: 27-11-03
Location: QLD, Brisbane
Car: VLT!!
Trader Rating: (19)
Send a message via MSN to anothervl
cas for sure
anothervl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 08:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger