CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Engines, Turbos, Exhausts, Intercoolers
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 12-07-10, 11:29   #26
dirty fun
Player
 
Join Date: 21-09-09
Location: NSW, byron bay
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i disconected tons of sensors when i did my front facing with stock ecu....idled badly...so i upped the idle and it runs perfectly

BE CAREFUL though .... those ones on ebay dont allow stock fuel rail to fit...as it will hit on your throttle body!
dirty fun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-08-10, 14:30   #27
SHIZNIK
boong chook
 
SHIZNIK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-01-10
Location: WA, dero gero
Car: white sl vlt
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirty fun View Post
i disconected tons of sensors when i did my front facing with stock ecu....idled badly...so i upped the idle and it runs perfectly

BE CAREFUL though .... those ones on ebay dont allow stock fuel rail to fit...as it will hit on your throttle body!
so wat fuel rail do you use with that ebay plenum.?
__________________
its not the dog in the fight..... its the fight in the dog....

SIXTY 5 THIRTY
SHIZNIK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-10, 11:55   #28
VLC-57L
Player
 
VLC-57L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-05
Location: Sydney, Western Suburbs
Car: BA XR6 Ute & VL Calais Turbo (new project)
Trader Rating: (2)
I'm glad this thread was still going. As the extra information added has helped. I have finally finished my wiring. I fired up the Calais with standard plenum and Cross over to make sure it all works fine before I fit the Forward Facing plenum. It runs great with the 5 speed manual too lol.

Well I have obtained a Plenum. It is a canister style plenum (much like JD's) and has a XF throttle body attached. 4 Vacuum line fittings underneath, 1 of which is larger for the brake booster.

From what I have read so far, the rear idle control valve can be pissed off. But what electrical sensors/plugs need to still be hooked up?
VLC-57L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-10, 12:19   #29
Boost202
Official Member
 
Boost202's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-06-05
Location: VIC, Geelong
Car: Eh Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
hi i purchased one of the plenums of that guy on ebay, took ages to come, originly he quoted 21days it took over 6 weeks. i got the accelerater cable bracket of him too which is a waste of money, basicly its a lenth of 2.5" stainless tube with a fork out for the accelerator cable.
i ended up mounting the throttle body upside down and reversing the action of the spring/ cable pull. then made a mount for the cable so that it pulls back towards the windscreen to open the throttle. ive also deleted the cold start thingo, and idle air comes up from the cooler pipe to the acc valve at the back of the manifold.
but yeh its still not quite ready to fire up yet so ill let you know how it goes on idle!
.
Boost202 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-11, 19:30   #30
REVENU
quarter throttle
 
REVENU's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: VIC, YaRrA VaLLeY:Tree huggeR
Car: The maddest pushbike on the block
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to REVENU
what have people done with the air regulator hose?
__________________
Static Photography
See more @ Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/p...50663578318401
REVENU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-11, 20:33   #31
ISL33P
VLT Berlina 26/30 T56
 
ISL33P's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: NSW, Wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (42)
Send a message via MSN to ISL33P
you can just block it off. it is simply a regualtor to assist distrobution of air between the front and rear of the plenum. any forward facing plenum should do that for you.

Cheers,
Ariel
__________________
Custom Plenum Creations
Ph: 0403 279 000
See Advertiser's or follow me on Facebook
ISL33P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-11, 21:19   #32
vlwagz
Gold Members
 
vlwagz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-06-06
Location: SA, adelaide
Car: VLT berlina wagon
Trader Rating: (11)
how do people go running the forward facing plenums with the battery still in stock location and stock clutch fan??
vlwagz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-11, 08:21   #33
REVENU
quarter throttle
 
REVENU's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: VIC, YaRrA VaLLeY:Tree huggeR
Car: The maddest pushbike on the block
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to REVENU
Cheers.

VLWAGZ: I dont think thats possible... i am struggling to do it without holes and my batttery is in the boot AND i got a thermo fan.
__________________
Static Photography
See more @ Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/p...50663578318401
REVENU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-11, 22:28   #34
REVENU
quarter throttle
 
REVENU's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: VIC, YaRrA VaLLeY:Tree huggeR
Car: The maddest pushbike on the block
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to REVENU
Here is the finished result of mine for anybody who reads this in the future... I have not had it tuned yet but will update this once everything is complete.

__________________
Static Photography
See more @ Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/p...50663578318401
REVENU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-11, 05:55   #35
ISL33P
VLT Berlina 26/30 T56
 
ISL33P's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: NSW, Wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (42)
Send a message via MSN to ISL33P
....and with cruise control, I like it!!
__________________
Custom Plenum Creations
Ph: 0403 279 000
See Advertiser's or follow me on Facebook
ISL33P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-11, 11:55   #36
REVENU
quarter throttle
 
REVENU's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: VIC, YaRrA VaLLeY:Tree huggeR
Car: The maddest pushbike on the block
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to REVENU
I nearly ditched the cruise control several times because it was fair bit of effort and had to keep original throttle body (turned upsidedown and milled off the water line that ran through it to clear the bonnet) but i was determined to keep it calais spec lol.

Original fuel rail is in use also with 600cc hosetail injectors.

All wires and plugs reached without needing extending which was a fiddly task but i got it in the end. I am still running all sensors!

Any questions for people in future i will try my best to answer so fire away.
__________________
Static Photography
See more @ Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/p...50663578318401
REVENU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-11, 15:25   #37
VLC-57L
Player
 
VLC-57L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-05
Location: Sydney, Western Suburbs
Car: BA XR6 Ute & VL Calais Turbo (new project)
Trader Rating: (2)
Looks great REVENU. I like it.

I didn't know my thread was still kicking. But in a way it is good as I can give my updates for future readers.

Before I ripped off the standard plenum I ran the car, then disconnected the rear plugs going to the IACV valve at the back of the plenum. Took it for a drive, switched it off, started her up again. Was all good. It didn't effect the rev at all. I do know once the forward facing plenum is all hooked up with piping it will idle rough, but as said before, you can adjust that with the XF throttle body.

I just finished the piping on the weekend, My plenum is allowing me to have the battery in its original position (though it will be a smaller dry cell battery) and I did have to relocate the power steering reservoir)

The piping is so damn short I have no room except for after the turbo to the run the AFM (as I want it in the piping, not before the turbo)

Still modifying a standard fuel rail to have the inlet and outlet in the right positions.

I will take some pics and show everyone how it is going.
VLC-57L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-02-11, 20:15   #38
l67calais
Player
 
Join Date: 05-04-09
Location: Melbourne, eastern
Car: Calais
Trader Rating: (1)
what if you still keep the stock plenum as is , how much if the stuff hanging if it can be deleted?
all the water hoses that weave all over it, are they needed
what does the iac valve do and is it needed?
__________________
what is a signature
l67calais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-11, 09:19   #39
VLC-57L
Player
 
VLC-57L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-05
Location: Sydney, Western Suburbs
Car: BA XR6 Ute & VL Calais Turbo (new project)
Trader Rating: (2)
From my knowledge all the water lines that run through the plenum are there for helping it warm up on cold start, then maintaining a cooler temperature once the engine is at running temp.

The IAC Valve is the electronic solenoid used to increase or decrease the engines idle. This can only be removed if you were to use a manual adjusted throttle body such as the XF one.
VLC-57L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-11, 18:58   #40
FRKVLT
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 04-12-08
Location: VIC, Melb
Car:
Trader Rating: (12)
when people go foward facing plenum, do you still connect the the trans line that is vacuum operated from the trans modulator?
FRKVLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-11, 20:23   #41
REVENU
quarter throttle
 
REVENU's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-12-03
Location: VIC, YaRrA VaLLeY:Tree huggeR
Car: The maddest pushbike on the block
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to REVENU
I have mine still connected.
__________________
Static Photography
See more @ Facebook http://www.facebook.com/home.php#!/p...50663578318401
REVENU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-05-11, 20:25   #42
FRKVLT
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 04-12-08
Location: VIC, Melb
Car:
Trader Rating: (12)
Quote:
Originally Posted by REVENU View Post
I have mine still connected.
cuz if it isn't connected wouldn't it stuff up the trans shifts - or the way the trans functions? only drawback l don't like about the modulator line going at the rear or the manifold is that if the trans modulator stuffs up you get fluid into the metal line and then in return to the manifold and engine resulting in clouds of smoke coming out the exhaust.

I have been thru 2 trans modulators in the past month!
FRKVLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-11, 11:42   #43
VLC-57L
Player
 
VLC-57L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-05
Location: Sydney, Western Suburbs
Car: BA XR6 Ute & VL Calais Turbo (new project)
Trader Rating: (2)
Yeah very true, but there really isn't any other way around it. They need the vacuum lines to operate.

Due to other commitments I haven't touched my Calais in months, but recently got back into it.

My fuel rail has now been customised by Enzed (thanks boys) and I can now easily run fuels lines in and out to the simple lock barb fittings attached to the fuel rail.

I am still needing to have the accelerator cable shortened (easy job) and modify an AU twin thermo fan to my radiator.

So to answer someones question earlier. You can keep the battery in its original position, but you will need to ditch the huge clutch fan and go with a slimmer electric option (like the AU twin thermos)
VLC-57L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-11, 15:51   #44
VLC-57L
Player
 
VLC-57L's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-08-05
Location: Sydney, Western Suburbs
Car: BA XR6 Ute & VL Calais Turbo (new project)
Trader Rating: (2)
Have hit a massive hurdle and just can't get over it.

I had everything bolted up and ready to fire. At first the car struggled to start due to no fuel pressure. Once pressure was up, it wanted to fire up but struggled. Eventually it did kick over, ran like an absolute dog then suddenly out of no where it rev'd up to like 4000rpm. So I shut it off.

We checked over everything, couldn't find a fault. I ended up removing the plenum and checking it with a straight edge. It was the best so I just had it machined again to make sure.

We fitted it again Saturday morning and we got the exact same problem. I am totally stumped and what is causing it. The car has had no battery in it for well over 6 months, is it possible the ECU may need all factory sensors plugged back in to reprogram itself? It's just that everyone else has never had this problem and the only difference i may have is that my car has been off the road for over 6 months with no battery in it.

Any suggestions?
VLC-57L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-11, 19:19   #45
ilegalfun
Player
 
ilegalfun's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-07-10
Location: VIC, Dandy north
Car: VL le N/A soon turbo
Trader Rating: (0)
sounds like a vaccum leak?? check all the piping from maf to the manifold
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by NICE TRY View Post
antilag is for awd 4 cylinders. 2 step is for MEN!!
ilegalfun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-17, 09:50   #46
OldSkoolr
Player
 
Join Date: 07-03-15
Location: Sydney, South Western
Car: 87 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
Hey guys, quick question. What is the hose on the front of a factory plenum used for and also to the side of that?
Ive been searching everywhere for this the past couple of days but havnt found any info that has helped me.
OldSkoolr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-17, 10:20   #47
deanoVLCT
MODERATERRRRR
 
deanoVLCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-05
Location: Melbourne, City
Car: Car: Hq gts coupe - Vl Sl turbo bt1 - Vl nitron - Vl v8 1k001 berlina - Fg xr6 ute - LJ coupe - LX slr 5000 rep
Trader Rating: (24)
Pics tell a thousand words buddy
deanoVLCT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-17, 12:24   #48
OldSkoolr
Player
 
Join Date: 07-03-15
Location: Sydney, South Western
Car: 87 Vl Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
First time trying to insert images. Not sure if it will work.
So, im keen to know what hose 1 and 2 are for?
OldSkoolr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-17, 19:55   #49
formula3l
Official Member
 
Join Date: 24-04-12
Location: WA, Bunbury
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
Might be the ones that run the coolant up to the bleed screw so you can bleed the air out of the cooling system?
formula3l is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 21:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger