CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > LPG GAS Specific
LSX Garage - Performance has a new home...

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 09-12-09, 11:38   #1
vltlpg
Player
 
vltlpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-12-09
Location: VIC, Ballarat area
Car: VL Berlina turbo lpg
Trader Rating: (0)
gas research b2 converter question

Just wondering if anyone has any ideas or knows how to help because it would be much appreciated. I've got a vlt running straight gas and whenever i do a cold start i have to turn the ignition on and then open the bonnet and press the button in the middle of converter to send some gas to the engine and then it will start fairly easily, but once its been warmed up it will start perfectly for the rest of the day without having to go near the converter, by the way its a B2 converter if that makes any difference. Just wondering if i need to adjust anything or if the converter might be buggered. thanks. josh
vltlpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-09, 22:39   #2
GASRB6
FOR SALE.
 
GASRB6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-08-06
Location: Adelaide, Between Glenside and the Gutter.
Car: Jet Powered Pram and Solar Powered Rock Daily.
Trader Rating: (4)
Converter should be fine.
Sounds like you need a primer kit. Local gas business should be able to help, if not call Gas Research and they will help you.
GASRB6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 10:36   #3
vltlpg
Player
 
vltlpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-12-09
Location: VIC, Ballarat area
Car: VL Berlina turbo lpg
Trader Rating: (0)
thankyou very much, appreciate it.
vltlpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 10:51   #4
vltrb-0
The Regulars
 
vltrb-0's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-04-04
Location: VIC, northern suburbs
Car: ke57, a ke70 with an ls1 and a turbo
Trader Rating: (26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by vltlpg
thankyou very much, appreciate it.

sounds like you might be low on water

when you first turn the car over no water flows through the system, gas enters the converter freezes and your ****ed from there

is your converter mounted up fairly high compared to teh radiator by any chance?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubbed1 View Post
This car has had more hits than Mohammad Ali
.
vltrb-0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-09, 17:45   #5
vltlpg
Player
 
vltlpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-12-09
Location: VIC, Ballarat area
Car: VL Berlina turbo lpg
Trader Rating: (0)
the car has plenty of water, whether or not its getting to the converter i dont know, its mounted fairly low, probably a good 9-10 inches from the top of the radiator. All i have to do is press the button in the middle until its fully compressed and you cant hear any more gas getting pushed, then turn the key n it pretty much starts first crank.
vltlpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-09, 16:52   #6
misk
what 2jz?
 
misk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-03-06
Location: Melbourne, coburg
Trader Rating: (8)
Send a message via MSN to misk
its just the primer.
i have the same problem in my EB cause i took the petrol start circuit out.
the gas just takes a while to prime on its own.
this is made worse if the pipe between your t/b and converter is pretty long
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATMO_BT1
You obviously drive stick, but i'm not sure about the monaro.
misk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-09, 17:22   #7
vltlpg
Player
 
vltlpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-12-09
Location: VIC, Ballarat area
Car: VL Berlina turbo lpg
Trader Rating: (0)
cheers mate, ive been working non stop but have a short day tomorrow so im taking it down the local gas place (as well as epa test centre,panel beaters and wreckers) to hopefully get all the little things sorted that have been annoying me.
vltlpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-09, 17:26   #8
misk
what 2jz?
 
misk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-03-06
Location: Melbourne, coburg
Trader Rating: (8)
Send a message via MSN to misk
its a common problem with straight gas cars, so they should be able to sort you out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATMO_BT1
You obviously drive stick, but i'm not sure about the monaro.
misk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-10, 07:53   #9
tna racin
Player
 
Join Date: 16-04-08
Location: VIC, yallourn north
Car: 1992 vp berlina
Trader Rating: (0)
Primer button
tna racin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger