CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Technical Articles
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 28-01-05, 14:04   #51
VLRB20DET
Time for another NISSAN!
 
VLRB20DET's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-03
Location: VIC, Warrnambool
Car: 2010 WR450F
Trader Rating: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by poohkies
mmmm beg 2 differ, run cold air retard timing a little and 12 pond up here running bp ultimate and she never pinged and she wasn't slow!

just my experence! just didn't have the founds to put a front mount on at the time! just got 2 90 diagree bends and welded them together! didn't have much lag :P
Yeah fair enough mate, I myslef just cant see the point of putting in a rb20 and not running a cooler but everyone to their own.. and at $350 for a Pro100 cooler thats bloody cheap for a new FMIC
VLRB20DET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-05, 18:45   #52
chalkie
Player
 
Join Date: 04-03-05
Location: Brisbane, Bulimba
Car: Vl, Gemini
Trader Rating: (0)
Hey,
Im currently doing a Rb20det conversion on my vl. I've helped mates do these b4. Im having trouble setting up my power steering pump! Can you help?
Chalkie.
chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-05, 09:08   #53
VLRB20DET
Time for another NISSAN!
 
VLRB20DET's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-07-03
Location: VIC, Warrnambool
Car: 2010 WR450F
Trader Rating: (10)
Quote:
Originally Posted by chalkie
Hey,
Im currently doing a Rb20det conversion on my vl. I've helped mates do these b4. Im having trouble setting up my power steering pump! Can you help?
Chalkie.
Sure can mate, its verry simple, remover the powersteering unit the RB20 comes with and simply replace it with the RB30 unit, bolt it up (it will just fit)
put the rb30 p/s belt on and your powersteering will work fine

The reason why we dont use the RB20 unit is they are a dual stage pump where the RB30 uses a single stage pump
VLRB20DET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 11:31   #54
vlthunter
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 07-01-05
Location: Perth, northern suburbs
Car: VL calais
Trader Rating: (47)
Send a message via MSN to vlthunter
hey fellas, i wanna do a similar conversion but with an rb25 det. why cant you use the rb25 ecu? also will the wiring between the rb25 and rb30 be similar to that of the rb20 to rb 30?
wiring is the only thing i am worried about at this stage.
__________________
sometimes the roads less travelled are less travelled for a reason....
.
vlthunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 15:21   #55
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
u can get kits, look on the internet

u would use the rb25 ecu with the rb25, the only thing u have to wire up is the ignition etc to the ecu, so that car will start and power the computer, same as u would have to do with any conversion! hunt around and u will find it, i believe www.justjapautomotive.com will sell u the wiring loom diagram for around $150-$200
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-05, 15:24   #56
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
Quote:
Originally Posted by VLRB20DET
Yeah fair enough mate, I myslef just cant see the point of putting in a rb20 and not running a cooler but everyone to their own.. and at $350 for a Pro100 cooler thats bloody cheap for a new FMIC
yeah now the price is cheap and wouldn't disagree with that at all, but back 2 years ago it wasn't so cheap! $2000 for a intercooler and piping!
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-05, 10:55   #57
vl86rb20
Player
 
Join Date: 07-09-05
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
i have done the rb20 conversion on my vl and its not as complex as your saying. i didn't have to change over any of the things you say.

for all the sensors just wire them up properly from the ecu. i didn't change any of them.

all the rb gearboxes are the same(except the 4wd ones) the gearboxs are just gear out differently, on a standard vl diff the rb20 gearbox puts the speedo out by 20kmph(4.11 fix this) i've gone through a couple of rb30 boxes and a rb20 box and they swap straight over, no physical difference, and rb25 boxs will bolt straight on also. clutchs are exactly the same too.

with the rb20 powersteering pump just block off one of the lines or join them both together. it works fine. aircon works fine also with the rb20 one.

if you change the harmonic ballancer the altenator will be out of alignment with the belt, hence you will go throught a belt a week. just leave the rb20 one on there.

apart from doing a service, waterpump(which by the way is the same as a vl one) and timing belt. you don't have to change anything. just hook it all up. and if you have all the gear there and auto to manual conversion is easy too.

i did my conversion in a day. really the hardest part is the wiring, but even thats not to hard with all the diagrams.

this conversion is very easy to do.
vl86rb20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-05, 22:24   #58
FLYNVK
Player
 
FLYNVK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20-09-05
Location: Sydney, western suburbs
Car: VK Calais turbo
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via MSN to FLYNVK
just a question what computer r you's using cause i want to do this conversion on my vk
FLYNVK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-05, 15:41   #59
BOOSTN_06
Player
 
BOOSTN_06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-11-03
Location: NSW, paradise....the bay
Car: coming soon...
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to BOOSTN_06
so no-one on here has a wiring diagram for an rb20det?? why wouldnt ya just post it up and help out a few lads.
__________________
Team Repco, Lee speaking.....
BOOSTN_06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-05, 08:57   #60
brett_32i
Player
 
Join Date: 04-01-04
Location: VIC, sth east subs
Car: another uc
Trader Rating: (4)
the shifter is the same on the rb series of gearbox (not 30t).

is the sr20 the same? now it looks identical (photos on net), but i dont want to buy one to find out it wont bolt up......
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/memberpage/823710

rb30 adjustable cam gears for sale
brett_32i is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-05, 16:31   #61
SHAUNUS
Player
 
SHAUNUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-05
Location: WA, Kalgoorlie
Car: D40 Outlaw on 24's, 2013 CRF 450, 2010 CRF 250
Trader Rating: (0)
buy a half cut,get them around 2000 imlucky my gfs bro works at a performance shop and said he would install it for free if i help him ahahahhaa
SHAUNUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 01:55   #62
NVS
Player
 
NVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-01-06
Location: Adelaide, North East
Car: VK V6, VK Berlina, VL Turbo, VL Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to NVS
My m8 had an RB20 in his VL. he runs a Haltech computer.
runs 12's @14psi 1/4mile.
In need of a turbo & manifold upgrade, the ceramic wheel just wont cut it. any sugestions on what manifold & steel wheel ball bearing turbos will fits?

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y156/susvs/vleng.jpg
__________________
Cop's don't have quota's, they'r allowed to give out as many ticket's as they like.
NVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-04-06, 00:54   #63
darkl0n
Player
 
darkl0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-03
Location: VIC, Bendigo
Car: calais s1 turbo and a VZ SS
Trader Rating: (6)
for the people asking for wiring information check out the following sites:

http://www.gweeds.net/carpage2/nismodoreindex.html

http://www.rb20det.com/ecupinout.html

i know the first one only has information about the wiring for a rb25det, but if you compair with the pin outs on the other site you should be able to work it all out.

the main things that you don't need to worry about on the rb25 diagram is the valve timing solonoide, boost control valve, and the stuff that is not labeled and dose not exist on an rb20det, also take note that the pin outs for the injectors are different on the two motors.

with the two sites above i worked out a hacked up rb20det auto wiring loom, with half the connectors missing.

Last edited by darkl0n; 18-07-06 at 21:39.
darkl0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-06, 12:40   #64
SHAUNUS
Player
 
SHAUNUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-06-05
Location: WA, Kalgoorlie
Car: D40 Outlaw on 24's, 2013 CRF 450, 2010 CRF 250
Trader Rating: (0)
yeah use an rb25det turbo aparently they work well... and im assuming the rb25 manifold will fit the rb20 as there both similar engines
SHAUNUS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-06, 13:32   #65
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
How did you guys manage to fit the VL slave cylinder to the RB20 box? Unless you made a bracker as they have different bolt patterns. Not really necessary anyway as you can just swap the clutch line over onto the Rb20 slave cylinder.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-06, 16:09   #66
DEVL25
o )( o
 
DEVL25's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-12-02
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: RB25DET VL Calais
Trader Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by VLHERO
How did you guys manage to fit the VL slave cylinder to the RB20 box? Unless you made a bracker as they have different bolt patterns. Not really necessary anyway as you can just swap the clutch line over onto the Rb20 slave cylinder.
My box came with the rb25 slave attached so i just took the VL master cyl and rb25 slave cyl into Enzed and they made up a clutch line for me.
DEVL25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 11:12   #67
darkl0n
Player
 
darkl0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-03
Location: VIC, Bendigo
Car: calais s1 turbo and a VZ SS
Trader Rating: (6)
i am using a vl gearbox, so i have none of that to worrie about, also using a vl box it won't put your speedo out.

sorry i think i miss read what you wrote about the slave cyl.

Last edited by darkl0n; 06-04-06 at 22:51.
darkl0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-06, 16:17   #68
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Whats the go with that?! The VL clutch line just screws into the RB20 slave!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-06, 13:01   #69
darkl0n
Player
 
darkl0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-03
Location: VIC, Bendigo
Car: calais s1 turbo and a VZ SS
Trader Rating: (6)
hey what did every one else who has put in an rb20det in to a vl do, as far as the throttle cabel go's, as i made a bracket on the back of the manifold, but it only allows you to open the t/b to about 75% when your foot is flat to the floor.

so did anyone swap the t/b on the rb30 to the rb20 or did ya's do something else.

cheers
darkl0n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-06, 15:25   #70
poohkies
no it's a calais not a vl
 
poohkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Kenmore
Car: VL Calais Turbo,Autech 260rs, GT Spec B Liberty wagon, R33 4 door daily
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to poohkies Send a message via Skype™ to poohkies
i used zip ties, and i'm being serious
poohkies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-06, 22:20   #71
allan
Player
 
Join Date: 13-11-06
Location: Adelaide, hills
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
vl rb 20 turbo

hey i have got a vl with the converison i bought it allready done but the tacho has never worked could u plz send me the diagram of wat i need to do to make it work ok thankz plz email back soon
allan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-11-06, 14:12   #72
Lurkin
Player
 
Join Date: 02-08-06
Location: NZ, Tauranga
Car: VL sedan RB30e, VL wagon RB20DET proj.
Trader Rating: (0)
do a search man, been on here heaps
Lurkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-06, 16:02   #73
abusiv-vl
Player
 
abusiv-vl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-11-06
Location: NZ, thirdline road norsewood
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Here guys check out my conversion heaps of info and pics

Here guys check out my conversion heaps of info and pics

http://d1nz.org.nz/forum/viewtopic.php?t=14754

Quote:
Originally Posted by VLHERO
How did you guys manage to fit the VL slave cylinder to the RB20 box? Unless you made a bracker as they have different bolt patterns. Not really necessary anyway as you can just swap the clutch line over onto the Rb20 slave cylinder.

The Vl slave bolts staight up to the Rb20det box im running a rb20det box behind my rb30et

Last edited by abusiv-vl; 26-11-06 at 16:05. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
abusiv-vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-06, 14:04   #74
nekomonky
Player
 
Join Date: 17-12-06
Location: WA, perth
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
why would you replace all the sensor's to Vl ones when your going to be using the rb20det motor? i kind of missed something.

Ive also read that the engine is a direct swap, as in, take rb30 out, drop rb20 in, wire it up, and its done, i have never heard from anyone that there is a need to replace the sensors and compressor's and all that other stuff listed, im pretty sure even the engine mounts from the rb30 would bolt up to the rb20?

might be wrong though.
nekomonky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-12-06, 11:07   #75
NVS
Player
 
NVS's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-01-06
Location: Adelaide, North East
Car: VK V6, VK Berlina, VL Turbo, VL Calais
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to NVS
nice write up Abusiv-VL, almost same colour as my m8s RBVL20.
__________________
Cop's don't have quota's, they'r allowed to give out as many ticket's as they like.
NVS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger