CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > General, Electrics, Engine Management, Wheels, Bodywork
GRUNT Performance

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 06-02-04, 16:56   #1
white_vl_bt1
Player
 
white_vl_bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: VLT Intercepter
Trader Rating: (0)
Bored VL throttle body

The mechanic i goto and my mate goes to, a guy there offered my mate a bigger VL throttle body. I thought straight away, XF throttle body, but apparently its a VL throttle body that has had the inside of them bored out or honed out more..

anyone heard of this? any gains?

cheers.
Tim.
white_vl_bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-04, 19:07   #2
spiritfc
Player
 
Join Date: 17-06-02
Location: Sydney
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Here is a pic of one:



Quote:
Originally Posted by white_vl_bt1
The mechanic i goto and my mate goes to, a guy there offered my mate a bigger VL throttle body. I thought straight away, XF throttle body, but apparently its a VL throttle body that has had the inside of them bored out or honed out more..

anyone heard of this? any gains?

cheers.
Tim.
spiritfc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-04, 23:36   #3
vlberlina
Player
 
vlberlina's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: I used to have a 300HP SKYLINE....
Trader Rating: (18)
how much......????
__________________
dont be afraid - support the sideway slide.
vlberlina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 02:22   #4
ijd
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car: VL turbo & R33.
Trader Rating: (14)
http://www.commsport.com.au/category47_1.htm sell them. Its $345 for throttle body and plenumn or $200 exchange.(I think its exchange, I don't know what core deposit means.)
__________________
(OO\_GTR_/OO)
.

Last edited by ijd; 07-02-04 at 02:28.
ijd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 13:35   #5
Krieger
Player
 
Krieger's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-04
Location: SA, Adelaide
Car: VL, Audi 100
Trader Rating: (0)
on a side note, you can do this mod to any tb. port it slightly and make a new butterfly to suit, pretty basic stuff.

-jimmy
Krieger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 16:26   #6
white_vl_bt1
Player
 
white_vl_bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: VLT Intercepter
Trader Rating: (0)
I can get it done for $100 through my mechanic. Do you think its worth all the effort? i mean what are the gain going to be?
white_vl_bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 17:35   #7
vlred
Player
 
Join Date: 22-06-02
Location: Sydney
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
is that for the plenum aswell?
vlred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-04, 19:53   #8
white_vl_bt1
Player
 
white_vl_bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: VLT Intercepter
Trader Rating: (0)
yeah the standard plenum.
white_vl_bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 10:05   #9
vlred
Player
 
Join Date: 22-06-02
Location: Sydney
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
so the plenum doesn't get ported to match? i haven't done this but from the other threads on this mod i gather that it may be a waste of time and money if the plenum is left standard. someone who has done it may want to back me up on that.
vlred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 12:32   #10
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
the throttle body is made of thickish steel, so when you bore it you only bore the inside out to make it bigger, hence the outside diameter of the thing remains the same, enabling it to retain the standard plenum.

if a different throttle body is used (XF, RB20) then you will have to get the plenum hole enlarged because the outside diameter is different.
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 12:48   #11
vlred
Player
 
Join Date: 22-06-02
Location: Sydney
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
so whats the point of opening up the t/b if you still have a restriction in the plenum opening?
vlred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 13:10   #12
yellowturbojet
Player
 
yellowturbojet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-03
Location: VIC, Melbourne, Northern suburbs
Car: Yamaha TZR250
Trader Rating: (9)
bore that out aswell?
__________________
bringing nerd/muzza back ;)
yellowturbojet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 13:47   #13
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
you don't have a restriction in the plenum because the hole in the plenum is the same size as the outside of the throttle body, you're only altering the inside diameter to allow more flow.
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 14:35   #14
vlred
Player
 
Join Date: 22-06-02
Location: Sydney
Car:
Trader Rating: (1)
oh ok. so those commsport ones wouldn't need the plenum to be ported either. they are like 300 or 400 exchange so i think $100 would be a good deal then.
vlred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 21:24   #15
ijd
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car: VL turbo & R33.
Trader Rating: (14)
Maybe they port the runners out a bit.
__________________
(OO\_GTR_/OO)
ijd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-04, 22:27   #16
JET-6
THE BANINATOR
 
JET-6's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-06-02
Location: VIC, East Gippsland
Car: MK1 Esky 2 door(2.3 turbo), Patrol monster truck, and a EB2 XR6
Trader Rating: (68)
Are NA and turbo TB's the same?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by [T]Matty
good for signing up to gay sites


Email me @ thumpainc@bigpond.com
JET-6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 11:09   #17
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
pretty sure!
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 12:09   #18
white_vl_bt1
Player
 
white_vl_bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: VLT Intercepter
Trader Rating: (0)
As stocky said, the standard plenum hole is the same size as the outer diameter of the throttle body.

As far as i know, its ONLY the THROTTLE BODY that gets machined to the same diameter of the plenum hole.

As i find out more i'll try and tell ya's.
white_vl_bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-04, 17:25   #19
ijd
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car: VL turbo & R33.
Trader Rating: (14)
I just got an email back from commsport and the price is $345 if you supply one urself. Thats a bit steep.
__________________
(OO\_GTR_/OO)
ijd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 00:27   #20
PSI
Player
 
Join Date: 20-11-02
Location: SA, northern suburbs
Car: lease car
Trader Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ijd
I just got an email back from commsport and the price is $345 if you supply one urself. Thats a bit steep.
Dont AVO do a bored out throttle body for the VLT?
Cost from memory is $200 change over.I think they are bored out to 63-65mm, but not 100% sure.This is a bolt on replacement part.
Maybe check out there website.

PSI.
PSI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 11:44   #21
white_vl_bt1
Player
 
white_vl_bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-06-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern Suburbs
Car: VLT Intercepter
Trader Rating: (0)
Im yet to get a hold of the guy who's mate bore's out the throttle bodies... I dont know if he's a professional or just doing it as a side thing.. $100 is cheap for this mod, but i know nothing of the workmanship/quality.. so when i find out, i'll tell ya's all about it..

Just out of curiosity, providing this deal is quality.. how many people would be interested in getting there T/B bored out for $100??
I'd say this guy is in the eastern suburbs if anyone wanted to know.

I know i would like to get mine done.. would be good to dyno the car before and after to see the results.

Cheers.
Tim.
white_vl_bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-04, 18:05   #22
ijd
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car: VL turbo & R33.
Trader Rating: (14)
If you can get it done for $100 I'd be in. Just depends how big he bores it out.
__________________
(OO\_GTR_/OO)
ijd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-04, 02:20   #23
grug
Still don't give a F@#K!
 
grug's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-08-03
Location: Melbourne, Eastern
Car: Vl turbo Berlina
Trader Rating: (3)
Send a message via ICQ to grug
I'm interested I've been thinking of porting the t/b and plenum for a whie and $100 for t/b is great would get the plenum done as well if he does them.
grug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-04, 15:06   #24
700HP
Player
 
700HP's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-02-03
Location: QLD, Back in Brisbane
Car: 86 Berlina Turbo 5spd
Trader Rating: (0)
If your car is turbo'd - I wouldn't waste your money.

Years ago when I was using the standard plenum & throttlebody, I was making 320RWHP.

I had a couple of mates who'd had theirs ported, and were making less power (260rwhp).

This is not to say porting one makes you go slower - what I'm trying to say is that you'll make more gains by making mods elsewhere. Clearly the standard throttlebody on a turbo'd VL is not really a restriction to power.

Different story for NA though, because air is not pressurised.
__________________
No, I don't race.

Website: www.700hp.myip.org
Email: bkitchin@optusnet.com.au
700HP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-04, 20:22   #25
ijd
Gold Member
 
Join Date: 11-05-03
Location: Brisbane, Southside
Car: VL turbo & R33.
Trader Rating: (14)
But what else are you gonna do for $100
__________________
(OO\_GTR_/OO)
ijd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 03:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger