CalaisTurbo New Tags END Ignore Digital Niche Code -->
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Technical Articles
Calais Turbo Advertising

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 30-12-08, 08:52   #76
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
6hrs on the oil feed off the block?
When I done mine it was a bitch but not 6hrs of a bitch. If there was a ratchet spanner in that size it would be soo much easier. When I did mine I un bolted it off the turbo too its heaps easier that way
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-08, 09:12   #77
Munro-
BLEH
 
Munro-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-02-04
Location: VIC, Mildura
Car: VLT
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Munro-
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
6hrs on the oil feed off the block?
When I done mine it was a bitch but not 6hrs of a bitch. If there was a ratchet spanner in that size it would be soo much easier. When I did mine I un bolted it off the turbo too its heaps easier that way
pretty sure snapon make a ratcheting spanner to suit.... Half the trucks is getting 2 wrenchs, 1 underneath it to push it up and another to tighten up. simple as that...
Munro- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-08, 11:58   #78
Grega
Player
 
Join Date: 21-07-03
Location: Melbourne, Hoppers
Car:
Trader Rating: (9)
Send a message via MSN to Grega
FWIW its a 17mm head
i will remember it for a long time to come.
__________________
Cheers

Grega
Grega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-12-08, 15:50   #79
NZ VL com
Player
 
NZ VL com's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-03-08
Location: NZ, Hamilton
Car: vl calais, vl royale 195kw non turbo
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kasman88
hey I did the conversion, the injectors im running are slightly higher flowing than VLT, that what i was told ( merc ones or something) and when i plug up my VLT ECU it runs really rich and idles crap, but when i have my NA ECU in runs fine, why is this and would there be a way of running my turbo ECU without doing anything damage to my car. I'd like to keep my enigne this time round :P
simple your fuel map need to be remapped, aka nistune
__________________
looking for VL wagon FS AUS 3Lt man
.
NZ VL com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 10:31   #80
C4L4IS86
Player
 
C4L4IS86's Avatar
 
Join Date: 27-06-05
Location: WA, dianella
Car: 86 calais turbo
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to C4L4IS86
hey guys i just bought a n/a turbo setup cheap engine wasnt running we didnt know WHY till we could pull head off did so to find melted pistone #4 cyclinder,

also to find that it was still using a n/a auto computer what this course?

also wiring harnes had been chopped into were the 5th and 4th injector goes
#4 injector had been cut off were it should have been
then spliced into were #5 injector goes
What would this course?

Also think car has a turbo AUTO box how do i tell differnce between n/a and TURBO?
__________________
MATRIX SIGNS
BRIFFA Engineering
C4L4IS86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 17:04   #81
Skitzvk
BANNED
 
Skitzvk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-07
Location: VIC, Hp
Car: Vl SL 5 SPD
Trader Rating: (7)
where do you run to water drain to behind the block

does anyone have any pics of how there did it
Skitzvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-09, 20:19   #82
Grega
Player
 
Join Date: 21-07-03
Location: Melbourne, Hoppers
Car:
Trader Rating: (9)
Send a message via MSN to Grega
skitzvk : the return plumbs back into one of the heater hoses...i'll have a look for a pic

EDIT: here :

http://ta22.homelinux.org/grega/100_1949.JPG

sorry about pic size
__________________
Cheers

Grega

Last edited by Grega; 04-01-09 at 20:20. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Grega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-09, 14:15   #83
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
ive just done a conversion.

its pinging even when the timing is full retarded. its running on 98 octane and its idle is pretty low.

got all the stuff listed for a high comp conversion,

vlt ecu
vlt injectors
t3 hi flow turbo
vlt manifold
plenum
etc
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-09, 02:23   #84
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Check the afm setting. You can lean it out just by turnin the screw on the afm.
Also double check the cam timing as some na's have advanced cam timin and then check the dizzy for correct timing. Anymore than 15 retarded and it'll be a pig of boost.
What injectors did you use?
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 00:14   #85
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
vlt injectors. i retarded the timing fully because it didnt ping 'as' bad but it still pings. runs a bit slugish and yeah already adjusted the afm. dont no why it wud be pinging with the timing retarded all the way???
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 03:00   #86
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Even retarding the ignition too much will cause detonation. What settings did you set the afm to?
380ish is bout standard although my vlt was set on 311 and never detonated.
The lower the number the richer it is.
My suggestion would be some dyno time with a proper wideband a/f meter. That's the only way you can be sure
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 15:44   #87
Skitzvk
BANNED
 
Skitzvk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-07
Location: VIC, Hp
Car: Vl SL 5 SPD
Trader Rating: (7)
hey guys just wondering when everyone has done there conversion

how there have bolted it all to the motor

would it be easyier to bolt turbo to manifold

lines to turbo

then put the manifold on the motor and attach lines ???
Skitzvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 17:23   #88
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Exactly like that mate. Keep the oil fed line ontop of the turbo loose but in place and bolt that line to the block before bolting it down on the turbo.
In order
Turbo with dump attatched bolt to manifold
Bolt manifold to motor
Then attach lines.
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-09, 21:20   #89
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
Even retarding the ignition too much will cause detonation. What settings did you set the afm to?
380ish is bout standard although my vlt was set on 311 and never detonated.
The lower the number the richer it is.
My suggestion would be some dyno time with a proper wideband a/f meter. That's the only way you can be sure
would there be anything else that would cause pinging? i dont wana dyno until i get a cooler
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-09, 00:12   #90
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Are you running 7psi?
Anymore on a converted motor and it could start to ping.
Standard na comp ratio is 9.0:1 if the head has been rebuilt before and could have been shaved which would raise the comp ratio.
There could be a massive build up of carbon on your pistons which will cause it.
The list is endless.
How many k's does the motor have on it?
Check the timing again.
Were the injectors new?
Second hand ones are **** and a waste of cash.
Get a cooler on there and see if it helps and get it tuned.
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-09, 19:33   #91
qwertsta
Player
 
qwertsta's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-09-06
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VL calais project, VL Berlina turbo sold, VL SL turbo stolen
Trader Rating: (1)
Where do I get the gaskets from??? I have the exhaust manifold to turbo metal gasket but I am missing the Turbo to dump gasket.
qwertsta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-09, 21:39   #92
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
nissan should have it. might have to order it in from vic tho. only takes one night

Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
Even retarding the ignition too much will cause detonation. What settings did you set the afm to?
380ish is bout standard although my vlt was set on 311 and never detonated.
The lower the number the richer it is.
My suggestion would be some dyno time with a proper wideband a/f meter. That's the only way you can be sure
whats a wide band afm? what can they do on the dyno?? i can get it dynoed and tuned for $200 is that a gud price?

Last edited by Shaun_VL; 13-01-09 at 21:45. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-09, 21:45   #93
Skitzvk
BANNED
 
Skitzvk's Avatar
 
Join Date: 01-12-07
Location: VIC, Hp
Car: Vl SL 5 SPD
Trader Rating: (7)
i ordered my turbo coolant line thru nissan but its taken 13 days . coming from japan. only part that sucks
Skitzvk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-09, 23:42   #94
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
$200 for a tune is pretty good. I got qouted around the same for a tune.
A wideband afm is a air/fuel ratio meter. If you have ever seen a probe stuck up the back of the exhaust on a car that's what it is. Its a much safer way to tune your afr's.
What do your plugs look like?
What condition was the motor in prior to the conversion?
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 00:04   #95
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
$200 for a tune is pretty good. I got qouted around the same for a tune.
A wideband afm is a air/fuel ratio meter. If you have ever seen a probe stuck up the back of the exhaust on a car that's what it is. Its a much safer way to tune your afr's.
What do your plugs look like?
What condition was the motor in prior to the conversion?
Spark plugs, brand new NGK BCPR7ES
Motor I would say A1, never any problems 150 xxx km

With the timing, I went for a drive with a spanner, started from 0 degrees and kept retarding it until the pinging was at its least which was fully retarded. But it didn't fully stop it.

What else should I try? Afm is ok now, idle is good.

What can they actually do on the dyno?
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 02:38   #96
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
They'll get your timing perfect and set the air/fuel ratios.
That plug your using is a heat range colder than the standard plugs. Try some standard plugs which are bcpr6es or bkr6es11. Both plugs are the same.
Take a plug out and see if it is white or black.
With the timing try taking the dizzy back a tooth then try again. Did it run like a pig when it was full retarded?
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 13:30   #97
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
They'll get your timing perfect and set the air/fuel ratios.
That plug your using is a heat range colder than the standard plugs. Try some standard plugs which are bcpr6es or bkr6es11. Both plugs are the same.
Take a plug out and see if it is white or black.
With the timing try taking the dizzy back a tooth then try again. Did it run like a pig when it was full retarded?
it went ok a bit slugish but it was pinging heaps. I had standard plugs in but was told to get the type i mentioned. I ran them on the standard ones for a bit, they were whiteish when i changed them. and yeh its full retarded at the moment and runs pretty crappy and pings when its been run for a while
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 17:03   #98
BOB18U
Player
 
BOB18U's Avatar
 
Join Date: 22-11-03
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car:
Trader Rating: (2)
Its leaning out real bad then.
What fuel reg are you using? vlt? Are all the vacuum hoses connected?
Im running out of ideas lol.
Try running the n/a ecu. See if that changes anything.
BOB18U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 17:39   #99
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BOB18U
Its leaning out real bad then.
What fuel reg are you using? vlt? Are all the vacuum hoses connected?
Im running out of ideas lol.
Try running the n/a ecu. See if that changes anything.
when i say its runnign crappy its idleing fine, drives ok but just seems like it shud be giving me more and not pinging so much. and its a vlt fuel reg. pretty sure all the hoses are sweet the only one thats not is the one on top of the rocker cover
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-09, 19:04   #100
theVLguy
Gold Members
 
theVLguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-05-06
Location: Brisbane, southside
Car: VL turbo
Trader Rating: (5)
those plugs are fine, colder plugs wont cause detonation. And you cant tune the AFM ratio without an aftermarket ecu or nistune.

Do not try the NA ecu it will ping worse due to timing differences in the maps.

If you are going back to 5 degrees at idle and its still pinging somethings wrong.


Recheck cam timing, reset the dizzy. set to 10 degrees.
theVLguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 07:02.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger