CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Suspension, Brakes, Gearboxes, Diffs
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 29-01-08, 16:18   #1
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
Diff gears - Speedo Changes

Just a little curious, I'm fairly sure the diff I have has 3.9's in it.. I think I remember I was going to change it but never did - forgot about them completely.

But anyway.. If I'm running 3.9's, can I get my speedo adjusted to suit? As I was on the highway the other day doing 110 and it just didn't feel right - or maybe it was?

At 60km/h in 4th what revs should I have?

Thanks
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-08, 16:40   #2
[GRK-WPN]
Player
 
Join Date: 11-08-07
Location: Sydney, Around here..
Car: A strainer
Trader Rating: (1)
mate jaycar sells a little board thing thats made to stuff around with the speedo, its for changing wheel size which affects the drive ratio so you would be able to do it too i guess
__________________
DUZ16Z vlct goin for 11z
[GRK-WPN] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-08, 18:35   #3
Alsynon
performancelpg
 
Alsynon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-06-05
Location: Adelaide, .
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Alsynon Send a message via MSN to Alsynon Send a message via Yahoo to Alsynon Send a message via Skype™ to Alsynon
3.9s @ 60 = just under 2k in direct drive (4th manual, 3rd auto)
3.9s @ 110 = 2650ish


gearing program attached will tell all
unzip and follow the bouncing ball
Attached Files
File Type: zip Gearing Calculator.zip (4.1 KB, 42 views)
__________________
If anyone in Adl has a virgin S2 block 4 sale let me know. Time to start on the forged bottom end.
Alsynon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-08, 19:46   #4
SirAzz
htfu
 
SirAzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-01-08
Location: Melbourne, West
Car: Holdens...
Trader Rating: (5)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alsynon
3.9s @ 60 = just under 2k in direct drive (4th manual, 3rd auto)
3.9s @ 110 = 2650ish


gearing program attached will tell all
unzip and follow the bouncing ball
Not trying to cause drama's or say that your incorrect, coz for all i know you may be right, but i just want to clarify my knolwedge towards it.

4:11's @ 60 = around the 1700 mark im my car.
4:11's @ 110 = 2250/2300 mark also in my car.

now i drive a VR V6, stock as arock with only 4:11's & M/Spool, 3.9s wont be much difference to 4:11's infact at idle'd speeds(crusing) there the same!, BUT the only difference between them is low end of the gears are far more beneficial(eg: of the lights a stock VR V6 will launch better with 4:11's than the same car with 3.9's BUT higher up say past the 3k mark there the same.

Chewing fuel, reving out are not problems i would listen to when modding my car with diff gears. and if you want to give your opponent a good run then seriously i recommend 4:11's, there the same as 3.9's they shouldn't rev past 2.3k at 110 and you'll have a better launch...

But anyways, im more then likely wrong im just going by my mates cars and all mine+previous cars.

And as to editing your speedo to match the gears it can be done, proffesional places will quote a VR V6 around 400+ to calibrate. But to save urself money all i can suggest is ask around for mates/family and do what i done, i used one of my mates GPS's wich had an elec speedo judge'd via satelite, and trust me, they are VERY acurate i measured my speed's and rev's through the GPS.

Also GPS are around 300+ (same price as calibrating a speedo proffessionaly) an yet there more beneficial.

But yea, anyways... im rambling lol
.
SirAzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-08, 21:25   #5
Alsynon
performancelpg
 
Alsynon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-06-05
Location: Adelaide, .
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Alsynon Send a message via MSN to Alsynon Send a message via Yahoo to Alsynon Send a message via Skype™ to Alsynon
As I said, the gearing program attached will tell all unzip and follow the bouncing ball.

CRS sells a correcter box, but the guts of it is that your speedo will read about 12% slow atm.
Alsynon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-08, 21:28   #6
Hingo
PM for GuardRolling
 
Hingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-03
Location: Brisbane, (Redlands)
Car: LEXUS IS200
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Hingo
you will need to have the gear in the speedo changed to one to suit your new diff gears... there are places that do it... Im sure someone has contact details or at least names of places that do it...

Being a cable speedo and not digital, you cannot simply change it with a jaycar or similar system...
Hingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-08, 22:08   #7
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
Yeah there's a vdo place in town, I just have to call him and make sure he can do it.
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 12:41   #8
5spdvl
Aaaaaaand it's gone.
 
5spdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-07-07
Location: VIC, City
Trader Rating: (22)
My opinion (to add to everybody else's ) is that you need to crack your trans open, and change both speedo gears (speedo drive gear, and gear on the mainshaft) to suit your higher diff ratio.

This being because if you change your speedo gear, but not the gear on your mainshaft (in the trans), they will no longer match, and you'll have NO speedo.
5spdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 12:46   #9
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
Get a stock car to drive beside you at 100, then look at what yours says

Cost = nothing
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 12:57   #10
HDT-VLCLE
The irregular one
 
HDT-VLCLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-07-06
Location: Melbourne, 3154
Trader Rating: (34)
In order to have this corrected, do you need to change the speedo gears in the gearbox, or the cluster? can it be done either way? I would assume it would be much cheaper to fiddle with the cluster than ripping apart a gearbox just to change a few cogs...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7FOUR7
Lets all go smoke some weed while cutting hoops outside the cop shop yewww
[/RANT]
HDT-VLCLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 13:38   #11
EYETZR
WHYPRV
 
EYETZR's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-07-06
Location: Melbourne, S.E
Car: VT -[WHYPRV] 08 HIACE VAN -[JETVAN]
Trader Rating: (6)
i wanna know the same thing as im puttin 3.9 gears in my VT...
how will i get the speedo to read correctly?
EYETZR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 13:39   #12
HDT-VLCLE
The irregular one
 
HDT-VLCLE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-07-06
Location: Melbourne, 3154
Trader Rating: (34)
With a VT i'm pretty sure you can use a "correcter box" as it was referred to earlier, but in a VL with a speedo cable thats not a option...
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by 7FOUR7
Lets all go smoke some weed while cutting hoops outside the cop shop yewww
[/RANT]
HDT-VLCLE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 15:28   #13
BlackVL
old school muscle
 
BlackVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20-06-02
Location: Melbourne, Northern Suburbs
Car: 87' VL Turbo, VT SS 5.0, HQ prem 308
Trader Rating: (8)
Yeah im pretty sure Holden can adjust a setting using a TECH 2 to correct your speedo.

Does anyone know how hard it is to convert to elec speed sensor ?? Do you need to change the speedo gauge to a later model commo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by EYETZR
i wanna know the same thing as im puttin 3.9 gears in my VT...
how will i get the speedo to read correctly?
__________________
FAST CARS LOSE THE BRA'S
BlackVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 15:57   #14
5spdvl
Aaaaaaand it's gone.
 
5spdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-07-07
Location: VIC, City
Trader Rating: (22)
I'll take photos when I get home and show you guys what I'm talking about re: the speedo gears in the box.
5spdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-08, 16:20   #15
Alsynon
performancelpg
 
Alsynon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-06-05
Location: Adelaide, .
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Alsynon Send a message via MSN to Alsynon Send a message via Yahoo to Alsynon Send a message via Skype™ to Alsynon
http://www.rodshop.com.au/catalogues/Speedos.pdf

electronic and mechanical adapters on bottom of page 2 ffs.
Alsynon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-08, 10:00   #16
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
I spoke to a guy today and he said that the adaptor boxes are the only way to go - there is another way and that involves finding another holden or ford that has 3.9's in it and he seems to think they will bolt straight on as all speedo boxes are generally the same.

Anyway he suggested that these boxes are around 200 dollars each, he may be right, but I guess because I'm switching from the 5 speed I have to an r33 5 speed at some stage, means that I'd have to buy another one of these boxes for 200? Looks like I'm going out for a while.

I'm still waiting to here back from another guy who said he'd do it for free. I don't think he knows what he's getting himself into though.

Anyone know what CRS sells them for?
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-08, 20:56   #17
87calais
legend
 
87calais's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: '87 VLCT Manual, '11 VE SS-V Manual
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 87calais
Bax,
If you are running an MX7 box now and you change to the R33 5 speed you can use the same speedo drive. To recalibrate the speedo with either of these boxes they use a ratio box in between the speedo drive unit and the cable. They just use the correct ratio to suit your driveline. The R33 uses an electric speedo drive vs the MX7's mechanical drive, but when you change gearbox's, just swap the drive (and ratio box) from the MX7 tranny into the R33 tranny and you're set.
Scott.
__________________
87calais
87calais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-08, 11:04   #18
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
Thanks, but I'm using the mf5, will I be able to do the same?
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-08, 14:10   #19
Steve
( . Y . )
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-11-02
Location: Perth, WA - NOR
Car: Calais
Trader Rating: (31)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5spdvl
My opinion (to add to everybody else's ) is that you need to crack your trans open, and change both speedo gears (speedo drive gear, and gear on the mainshaft) to suit your higher diff ratio.

This being because if you change your speedo gear, but not the gear on your mainshaft (in the trans), they will no longer match, and you'll have NO speedo.

You shouldnt need to change the gear in the box.

I've got an RB20 gearbox in my VL and it came with the RB20 Speedo drive for the 4.11 gears (or whatever the R32's have)

All i did was put in the VL MF5 speedo gear and my speedo reads fine now.



If you're putting in 3.7 gears, you need to find a speedo drive from a manual R31 skyline and swap the gear over

If you're putting in 3.9 gears, you need to get the speedo drive gear from an Auto R31 skyline.

4.11 gears - get a speedo drive from an R32

Would be good if Nissan sells the gears separately - i havent check with them yet.


I was going to write a tech article about this when I put 3.7 gears in my VL but havent had time to sort everything out.
__________________
Please Tell Your Boobs To Stop Staring At My Eyes...
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-08, 08:00   #20
87calais
legend
 
87calais's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: '87 VLCT Manual, '11 VE SS-V Manual
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 87calais
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bax
Thanks, but I'm using the mf5, will I be able to do the same?

The method for correcting the speedo is the same, but when you fit the r33 box you will need to get an MX7 speedo drive as the R33 is electric.. Get them new from Nissan for about $50. Part Number 32702-02G17. If you get the speedo calibrated now you will be able to use the same ratio box when you go to the R33 box and MX7 speedo drive.

Scott.
__________________
87calais
87calais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-08, 08:06   #21
DJ_XTASY
car enthusiast
 
DJ_XTASY's Avatar
 
Join Date: 08-02-07
Location: Adelaide, East side
Car: VL Aero Turbo and VL mock Group A Calais 5L
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via MSN to DJ_XTASY
Quote:
Originally Posted by HDT-VLCLE
In order to have this corrected, do you need to change the speedo gears in the gearbox, or the cluster? can it be done either way? I would assume it would be much cheaper to fiddle with the cluster than ripping apart a gearbox just to change a few cogs...
I agree with HDTVLC and NZ EVLHSV. Wouldn't you be able to pop the needle off after your mate sticks his cruise control on 100 and sticks his thumb up when ready then see how much yours is outta whack?
__________________
You know its been a good day when you havent seen a cop in your rear view mirror
DJ_XTASY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-02-08, 13:15   #22
Steve
( . Y . )
 
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-11-02
Location: Perth, WA - NOR
Car: Calais
Trader Rating: (31)
Speedo drive gear differences- Ive got no idea if the same applies for the MX7/R33 box (well I hope these figures are all correct!!)

4.6 is 22/23 teeth?
4.3 is 21 teeth - R32 RB20
4.11 is 20 teeth - R31 Pintara?
3.9 is 19 teeth - R31 Skyline AUTO
3.7 is 18.teeth - R31 Skyline Manual
3.45 is 17 teeth - VL Auto/Manual

What you do is remove the speedo drive from your gearbox and have the 'donor' speedo drive ready. The RB30 Auto and Manual speedo drives are different size and cant be interchanged, but you can remove the gear from the end of the drive.

To do this, you need a little punch to knock out the pin that retains the shaft and gear assembly to the speedo drive.

Do this to your speedo drive then the 'donor' drive.
And lastly dont forget to put the pin back in!

R31 skyline club members do this when converting their Skylines from Auto to Manual or vice versa, or when putting RB30's into their R31 Pintaras.


Hope this helps!! (I can get some pics...)

Cheers
__________________
Please Tell Your Boobs To Stop Staring At My Eyes...
Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-08, 10:17   #23
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
Thanks Steve, I'm working on it now.
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 16:07   #24
Bax
Moderator
 
Bax's Avatar
 
Join Date: 14-05-03
Location: QLD, Rockhampton
Car: Pushbike
Trader Rating: (41)
http://wiki.r31skylineclub.com/index..._Auto_Manua l

Steve is that basically what you're talking about?

I just have to find an r31 auto - proving to be the hardest part.
Bax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-08, 17:48   #25
87boost
Player
 
87boost's Avatar
 
Join Date: 31-05-05
Location: NT, Alice Springs
Car: AH Astra 2.0lt Turbo
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to 87boost
i got a vr senator and mine has 3.9s 80 is 60 on mine and at 110 my speedo says 150. i got a radar detector that has gps and it tells me my speed
__________________
you don't need a license to drive a sandwhich

for sale AH ASTRA TURBO $cheap$
87boost is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 15:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger