CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Regional Events > South Australia
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 10-01-08, 00:01   #1
-pumba-
[JETLAG]
 
-pumba-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-08-07
Location: SA, Seaford Rise
Car: Silverslate VLC+T/06 CBR1000RR/02 VY SV8
Trader Rating: (28)
need help

hey im deciding what to do with my vl calais i wanna go turbo and my engine needs a rebuild. so i was thinking rebuild my engine then go turbo.. or i have rang around and i found a fully reconditioned original turbo engine and i can get it with exchange of mine fully installed everything needed for conversion for $3000 i think this will be easier for me as i cant do any of it my self. but if i get a whole new engine this will mean my engine number will be different so does that mean i will have to go over regency ?? if so i would rather keep my engine recondition that one then go turbo and just not bother telling them about the turbo coz then im at least half in the right. sorry about the essay lol but any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advanced
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbonez View Post
Shelve it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
as in leave it on a shelf? not very constructive..
-pumba- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 00:12   #2
pmac
Ninja Sh!t
 
pmac's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-04-07
Location: Adelaide, Northern Suburbs
Trader Rating: (6)
Send a message via MSN to pmac
motor rego doesnt need to know anything about a new engine unless you are defected then they give it the once over and check if you have the right brakes (disc all round) dont tell them about turbo either way.

and if a cop pulls you over and asks if its original turbo you say yes or "im pretty sure it is"
pmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 00:21   #3
VL DRIFTA
Gold Members
 
VL DRIFTA's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-01-07
Location: SA, Port Pirie
Car: R33 Skyline [OUTCAST], WL Caprice and VX R8 Clubsport
Trader Rating: (7)
Send a message via MSN to VL DRIFTA
go the original turbo engine but make sure its what they say it is and has been recond etc and motor reg u just fill in forms and it dnt have 2 go over regency well thats what i was just told by a mate of mine whos a police officer. plus in my opinion anyway gettin that engine installed by a mechanic/shop u should get a form or something like a engineers certificate that u can show police correct me if im wrong anyone know about that??
__________________
Never under estimate a Hi-Comp VLT at the lights
VL DRIFTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 00:50   #4
Weezy
Player
 
Weezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Canberra, Southside
Car: 02' Mazda RX7 FD3S Bathurst Type R
Trader Rating: (15)
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmac
motor rego doesnt need to know anything about a new engine unless you are defected then they give it the once over and check if you have the right brakes (disc all round) dont tell them about turbo either way.

and if a cop pulls you over and asks if its original turbo you say yes or "im pretty sure it is"
Do what Pat said. I did it in my old VLT till i got defected, then they send you to the I.D. joint around the corner from regency and make up a sticker and make everything legit
.
Weezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 09:48   #5
-pumba-
[JETLAG]
 
-pumba-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-08-07
Location: SA, Seaford Rise
Car: Silverslate VLC+T/06 CBR1000RR/02 VY SV8
Trader Rating: (28)
so if i just go with the reconed turbo engine and dont let motor reg kno till i get defected or something. everyone recons that will be ok ??
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbonez View Post
Shelve it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
as in leave it on a shelf? not very constructive..
-pumba- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 13:34   #6
Weezy
Player
 
Weezy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-05-07
Location: Canberra, Southside
Car: 02' Mazda RX7 FD3S Bathurst Type R
Trader Rating: (15)
Yeah man.

Just make sure u act ignorant. Cop asks is this OG turbo? you simply say 'Yeah? I'm pretty sure mate. How i bought it' or something similar. I did that and worked.
Weezy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 14:54   #7
3L-JETT
-=:(RB):=-
 
3L-JETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-05-07
Location: Adelaide, Radelaide
Car: VL TURBO WAGON RB30ET (87) - VR CALAIS 3.8V6 (94)
Trader Rating: (13)
Yeah, dont say anything and you wont have to worry about it unless you do stupid sh*&... plus you got the exhaust already so thats one less thing you need. I sold my RB30ET Motor to my mate with a calais about a year ago, he didnt get the engine numbers changed over and he hasnt been botherd about it...
3L-JETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-08, 19:06   #8
white bt1
Player
 
white bt1's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-05-05
Location: SA, southern suburbs
Car: vlct
Trader Rating: (7)
all you do is fill in a form at motor reg if you change the engine and its still a 3ltr you will be fine
white bt1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-08, 00:03   #9
-pumba-
[JETLAG]
 
-pumba-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-08-07
Location: SA, Seaford Rise
Car: Silverslate VLC+T/06 CBR1000RR/02 VY SV8
Trader Rating: (28)
ok cheers guys
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbonez View Post
Shelve it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gab dH View Post
as in leave it on a shelf? not very constructive..
-pumba- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 13:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger