CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Non-Turbo Discussion
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 22-11-08, 13:44   #1
BZERKA
Player
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: NSW, central coast
Car: sold them all
Trader Rating: (6)
I Need Help Big Time Guys

hey dudes
i have been having this prob with my vl
runs mega rich, splutters abit on take off and at idol it will runs good then rough for a bit then comes good then rough again, its driving me nuts
i have read all the threads on idol problems and such and have done what was reacomended but no luck

so far i have changed with brand new parts
air flow meter
cas
spark plugs and leads
dizzy cap
fuel reg
coolant temp sensor
all vac hoses
intake pipe and rubber joiners
fuel filter
cleaned all plugs and connectors
cheaked all vac hoses and ac controls
cheack the led codes on the comp and they seem fine
and still no luck

i do have sliping auto which will be replaced very soon, could that have anything to do with it
its a s2 88 non turbo stocker rb30
any help would be great
__________________
www.casino-customs.com for mini truck and custom parts
BZERKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 13:50   #2
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
O2 sensor?
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 13:58   #3
BZERKA
Player
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: NSW, central coast
Car: sold them all
Trader Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke57TT
O2 sensor?
i was told that the o2 sensor have nothing to do with idol is that true
__________________
www.casino-customs.com for mini truck and custom parts
BZERKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 14:03   #4
airbagsVL
Player
 
Join Date: 01-02-06
Location: NSW, sydney
Car: vl turbo
Trader Rating: (1)
02 sensor is only used during cruise not on hard acceleration, so yeah its got nothing to do with idol.

You should take it to get it dynod and have a close look and fiddle with some of the sensor plugs particulary the coolant temp sensor and AFM because it could be a faulty connection.
.
airbagsVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 15:46   #5
Duke57TT
Missile Performance
 
Duke57TT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-03-07
Location: NSW, Queanbeyan
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Duke57TT
Fuel mixture on idle can have alot to do with it. Just a guess. Looks like you have tried alot of things, start looking for the hard to find like a loom that is corroded maybe? wont take much.
__________________
Rubber Braided and Teflon Braided Hose For Sale.Click Me! Add us on Facebook!! Email - missileperformance@live.com.au
Duke57TT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 18:24   #6
4sakenvl
Player
 
4sakenvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-12-07
Location: Auckland, Yo Momma's House
Car: '87 Berlina
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to 4sakenvl
take to a mechanic
__________________
Born with nothing, Die with everything
4sakenvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 18:27   #7
patch
[ZUTUTU]
 
patch's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-01-06
Location: Sydney, Lower North Shore
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to patch
not sure if will have something to do with it, but u havent mentioned checking the timiing, maybe that coudl be it
patch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 19:16   #8
Magnum06
Player
 
Magnum06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-06
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Car: Ferrari 360 spider
Trader Rating: (3)
Replace your O2 sensor and your bound to have better fuel economy.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CALJAS88
just because they steal a car doesnt mean there scum.
Magnum06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 19:36   #9
vldoser
Player
 
vldoser's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-04-08
Location: Melbourne, batcave
Car: VLT 2011 suzuki hayabusa
Trader Rating: (3)
your timing could be all over the place, prob just needs a good tune
vldoser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 19:53   #10
LUXJET
yehboi
 
LUXJET's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-09-06
Location: VIC, 3268
Car: PANNIC
Trader Rating: (5)
o2 sensor or afm or even the loom going to them both, broken wire stopping them doin wat there ment to do, if all else fails fcuk it off and buy a new one, youve probably alreadyspent $500 and it doesnt even idle
__________________
Bitches be trippin
LUXJET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-08, 22:24   #11
THC
Player
 
THC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 13-01-08
Location: Melbourne, Narre
Car: 04 cv8 monaro 300rwk. Vl calais turbo project. White Vl sl turbo.
Trader Rating: (9)
try the throttl management Plug thing to (mine was stuffd and every time it went to idol my car would stall and run like a B!tch (dunno if this would fix urs but u never know
THC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 08:00   #12
BZERKA
Player
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: NSW, central coast
Car: sold them all
Trader Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by patch
not sure if will have something to do with it, but u havent mentioned checking the timiing, maybe that coudl be it
hmmmm i will see

also when the comp is in self test mode it seems to run fine, is it safe to drive it with the comp switched to test mode

Quote:
Originally Posted by LUXJET
o2 sensor or afm or even the loom going to them both, broken wire stopping them doin wat there ment to do, if all else fails fcuk it off and buy a new one, youve probably alreadyspent $500 and it doesnt even idle
500 nah, the forman at work did the dodgy and only cost 250
__________________
www.casino-customs.com for mini truck and custom parts

Last edited by BZERKA; 23-11-08 at 08:02. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
BZERKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 08:45   #13
86SLVLT
Semi street
 
86SLVLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: 06-04-08
Location: WA, Mt. Tom Price
Car: Minitubbed, caged, e85 & gas vl turbo
Trader Rating: (9)
I had the same problem. Sold the car. That got rid of it pretty easy
86SLVLT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 09:01   #14
BZERKA
Player
 
Join Date: 09-06-06
Location: NSW, central coast
Car: sold them all
Trader Rating: (6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86SLVLT
I had the same problem. Sold the car. That got rid of it pretty easy
yeah iam thinking about it
__________________
www.casino-customs.com for mini truck and custom parts
BZERKA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 11:39   #15
5spdvl
Aaaaaaand it's gone.
 
5spdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-07-07
Location: VIC, City
Trader Rating: (22)
I would suggest a new engine loom, or even ECU.
5spdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 11:54   #16
theVLguy
Gold Members
 
theVLguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 21-05-06
Location: Brisbane, southside
Car: VL turbo
Trader Rating: (5)
the 02 sensor is ignored when in idle mode, only if your TPS is adjusted correctly, if its not it might be trying to get closed loop on idle, going rich then lean causing an erratic idle

but id be going with a wiring issue.
theVLguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 12:24   #17
airbagsVL
Player
 
Join Date: 01-02-06
Location: NSW, sydney
Car: vl turbo
Trader Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BZERKA
yeah iam thinking about it
Dont sell it yet man i saw your car when you came to pick up my CAS its a nice vl
airbagsVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 12:43   #18
NZ VL com
Player
 
NZ VL com's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-03-08
Location: NZ, Hamilton
Car: vl calais, vl royale 195kw non turbo
Trader Rating: (0)
have you checked the fuel flow/volume? maybe the prefilter is blocked or a pump is shot
__________________
looking for VL wagon FS AUS 3Lt man
NZ VL com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 14:15   #19
86 gmh
If its old or rare cut it
 
86 gmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: QLD, Brisbane, North side
Car: VLT, RB30et VH wagon, 1964 EH
Trader Rating: (15)
Send a message via MSN to 86 gmh
i had quite a similar problem with my vl...everything new allong the lines of sensors etc but still had a miss at idle that would come and go..like run fine then miss a few times then clear itself up...the problem in my case ended up being the cas.brand new unit was faulty..they only way we found the problem was by putting the scope on to it..a new better quilty cas fixed all the problem..
86 gmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 14:43   #20
Magnum06
Player
 
Magnum06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-06
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Car: Ferrari 360 spider
Trader Rating: (3)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 86 gmh
i had quite a similar problem with my vl...everything new allong the lines of sensors etc but still had a miss at idle that would come and go..like run fine then miss a few times then clear itself up...the problem in my case ended up being the cas.brand new unit was faulty..they only way we found the problem was by putting the scope on to it..a new better quilty cas fixed all the problem..
So, even though your CAS was still working fine it was the culprit to why your engine missed at idle?

I've had an idle miss for ages. I've replaced nearly everything, but the CAS.

What brand CAS did you end up using? Geniune or ACA?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CALJAS88
just because they steal a car doesnt mean there scum.
Magnum06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 16:33   #21
PSIWOG
Gold Members
 
PSIWOG's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-08-04
Location: Melbourne, frankston
Car: Audi
Trader Rating: (1)
Send a message via MSN to PSIWOG
Quote:
Originally Posted by 5spdvl
I would suggest a new engine loom, or even ECU.
ha ha man over kill or what .....
1 - Plug gap and correct plugs ? makes a massive difference
2 - You can adjust AFM from memory and makes a nice wack difference
3 - set base timing. If you have changed all the parts you have mentioned your going to have to do that anyway or it wont idle for ****
4 - its idle NOT idol !!!!!!
__________________
Ready to come home
PSIWOG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-11-08, 18:29   #22
86 gmh
If its old or rare cut it
 
86 gmh's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-07-08
Location: QLD, Brisbane, North side
Car: VLT, RB30et VH wagon, 1964 EH
Trader Rating: (15)
Send a message via MSN to 86 gmh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magnum06
So, even though your CAS was still working fine it was the culprit to why your engine missed at idle?

I've had an idle miss for ages. I've replaced nearly everything, but the CAS.

What brand CAS did you end up using? Geniune or ACA?

yer that was the problem. it would work fine just miss at idle and hesitate a bit under load.i used a dodgey cas the 1st time ,dont know if it was even branded? the second 1 i used was an aca and no problems ..yet..

when you replace the cas make sure your optic plate is perfect condition..a damaged optic plate can allso cause drama's
86 gmh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 10:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger