CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Turbo Discussion
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 27-02-09, 18:24   #1
DJ Mitzi
IBOOST
 
DJ Mitzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-07-05
Location: NSW, Western Suburbia
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to DJ Mitzi
HELP!!!! Car wont idle steady!!!!!!!

Hey ppl this is doin my head in!!!!
My car wont idle steady, normally!!!

Ive checked everywhere for vacume leaks. Ive checked for spark (spark plugs not fouled) and any shorting out e.g. spark leads etc... Doubt it would be AFM because after i rev it ever so slightly the car runs fine and smooth...

wen i rev the car it runs fine, it drives fine too... as soon as i stop, the car would idle normally at about 1000rpm and as it drops to where it would normally be 650 - 750rpm it just keeps dropping down to about 100-300rpm and its very eratic....
the exaust is also very very strong and stings my eyes and nose so i figure its running rich but i doubt this would affect idle!!!!


PLEASE POST ANY IDEAS AS TO WAT WOULD CAUSE THIS PROBLEM!!!!
I WILL APPRECIATE ANY HELP!!!!

ThankYou
Dimi (aka Jim)
__________________
Half of the VL accidents In Victoria, the driver's last words were "Watch this RE"
DJ Mitzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-09, 17:34   #2
DJ Mitzi
IBOOST
 
DJ Mitzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-07-05
Location: NSW, Western Suburbia
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to DJ Mitzi
anyone???? this problem is still ongoing.... just changed afm and still same sh!t....
car struggles to start wen cold...
plz help!!!!

59 people have looked at this thread and not one person has no idea?

just checked fuel pump and fuel filter!!!

is there anyone who can help me out?
__________________
Half of the VL accidents In Victoria, the driver's last words were "Watch this RE"

Last edited by DJ Mitzi; 02-03-09 at 20:06. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
DJ Mitzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-09, 06:44   #3
RB2GO
NO SHOW
 
RB2GO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 24-10-05
Location: VIC, Slybo
Car: VLT, VT
Trader Rating: (12)
Running extremely rich could affect idle just so you don't go ruling that out mate
RB2GO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-09, 09:48   #4
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
I would say the afm because mine used to run fine but I had to keep the revs up otherwise it idled low and eventually cut out. Changed the afm and was fine after that.

But if you think it's running rich my car was running rich so I changed the coolant temperature sensor and fuel regulator to a adjustable one. I just took it in to a performance shop they tuned it, did the timing, idle and fuel system for $200. Money well spent.

If it is struggling to start the coolant temperature sensor could be stuffed and giving a wrong reading and letting in to little or too much fuel. It sounds like it might be if it is running too rich when its warm.

Just one more thing. With the idle have you tried adjusting it? I adjusted my idle from the back of the plenum and it made little to no difference if i screwed it fully in or out. Tried adjusting the accelerator cable, still idled rough and the throttle screw. Still the same. It could be the afm which was what was wrong with mine.
.
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-09, 14:00   #5
DJ Mitzi
IBOOST
 
DJ Mitzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-07-05
Location: NSW, Western Suburbia
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to DJ Mitzi
ok ended up being the TPS.....
__________________
Half of the VL accidents In Victoria, the driver's last words were "Watch this RE"
DJ Mitzi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-09, 16:54   #6
Shaun_VL
Gold Members
 
Shaun_VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-04-08
Location: Perth, south of the river
Car: Vl SL turbo, RED 91 barina, vlct rb25det
Trader Rating: (11)
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ Mitzi
ok ended up being the TPS.....
TPS?
Shaun_VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-09, 17:00   #7
furryfrog
180kw
 
furryfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-06-03
Location: Sydney, eastern suburbs
Car: '81 corolla KE55S sr20de+t
Trader Rating: (11)
throttle position sensor
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by david85dc
atleast i look sexy on the scooter and can goto the scooter cafe with all the scooter chicks :D
furryfrog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-09, 17:03   #8
ILK
Gold Members
 
ILK's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-05-08
Location: ACT, Canberra STH.
Car:
Trader Rating: (13)
Throttle Position Sensor
Tells the ECU that the Throttle body is closed. And can go into 'idle' mode????

Last edited by ILK; 11-03-09 at 17:11.
ILK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-09, 17:08   #9
EvilPet
Gold Members
 
EvilPet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-10-04
Location: Perth, Noranda
Car: VL HDT AERO
Trader Rating: (2)
If it's "hunting" at idle check the connections / boots at the distributor. I fixed mine this way. A common problem with VLs.
EvilPet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 12:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.