CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Technical Articles
G-Cylinder

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 27-08-05, 22:24   #51
SATAN
Howie-VL
 
SATAN's Avatar
 
Join Date: 23-04-05
Location: TAS, North West Coast
Car: 87' VL
Trader Rating: (3)
Send a message via MSN to SATAN
Wow didnt realise how much work to do this..
SATAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-09-05, 15:16   #52
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Does anyone have the measurements for the placement of the brackets for the rear reading lights?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-11-05, 15:05   #53
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
people help please who have installed rear power windows

What i want to know is if i have the regulators and cable for the rear power windows, what else do i need? how do the windows attach to the cable? do i need to change the rail the window sits in?

Also how do the wheels attach to the door? are they riveted or do they bolt in and are the holes there already in SL doors for the wheels?

Sorry for many questions i just want as much info before i tackle the rears.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-11-05, 06:38   #54
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
anyone?
.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-05, 16:55   #55
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
ok, I did the rear regulators today. it is not as hard as everyone says. probably the most difficult part was removing the glass without taking the quarter glass or channel out. the regulators bolt in easy, i got the cable wound round all the wheels fine with no problems, didnt lose tension at all.

Overall it took about 3 hours to do both rear doors.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-01-06, 00:30   #56
vl87ngn
Player
 
vl87ngn's Avatar
 
Join Date: 17-01-06
Location: WA, Narrogin
Car: 87 Vl Turbo
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via ICQ to vl87ngn Send a message via MSN to vl87ngn
Scary ! I was just reading that article about Calais interior udgrades Fab Job man ! that S**t is awesome !
vl87ngn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 14:19   #57
gardna
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 16-01-06
Location: Adelaide, Banksia Park
Car: AH astra, Nissan Patrol RB30det, vlct on the way
Trader Rating: (1)
just wondering if any one who has done the hood lining, can tell me how they got the front and back of the lining under the seals, cos i dont wanna screw it up and im finding it awfully difficult
gardna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-06, 22:53   #58
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Front one doesnt go under the seal, theres a groove in the seal that the plastic edge on the lining pushes into. Rear one, take the window out.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-06, 16:03   #59
88vl
turbotim
 
Join Date: 23-07-04
Location: VIC, southwest vic
Car: 88vlt, 1970 hg prem project
Trader Rating: (12)
Send a message via MSN to 88vl
as said b4 anyone have measurements for rear interior light brackets??
88vl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-06, 21:13   #60
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by 88vl
as said b4 anyone have measurements for rear interior light brackets??
I just put the roof lining in except for around the rear doors, lined up the brackets with the holes and screwed them into place.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-06, 02:15   #61
gardna
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 16-01-06
Location: Adelaide, Banksia Park
Car: AH astra, Nissan Patrol RB30det, vlct on the way
Trader Rating: (1)
ive been given a factory central locking setup and im just wondering how the front actuators are mounted also, i got some black things, with a rod hangin out each end, with wires hangin off i am told these are also for the central locking, just wondering how they are mounted and what they are for.
gardna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-06, 13:10   #62
gardna
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 16-01-06
Location: Adelaide, Banksia Park
Car: AH astra, Nissan Patrol RB30det, vlct on the way
Trader Rating: (1)
also i got the wiring loom and can plug it in but i am unsure what to do next as i understand you have to do some soldering in the fuse rail? and I may need some extra bits cheers
gardna is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-06, 21:18   #63
Josnova
Player
 
Join Date: 26-05-06
Location: SA, berri
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Electric Windows

Hi Do You Have To Remove The windows On All 4 doors To Install the Regulators Can It Be Done Without Removing The Windows Does Anybody No Thanks
Josnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-06, 17:10   #64
Josnova
Player
 
Join Date: 26-05-06
Location: SA, berri
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Regulators

Come on must be someone out there that noes this
Josnova is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-06, 17:23   #65
VL_Nick
Player
 
Join Date: 17-02-03
Location: Canberra, ACT
Car: VL Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
youre better off removing the windows. it makes it a lot easier and quicker in the long run.
VL_Nick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-08-06, 16:39   #66
aquabat
Official Member
 
aquabat's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20-07-05
Location: QLD, Townsville
Car: BMW E46 318i Executive
Trader Rating: (13)
Send a message via MSN to aquabat
This is a question for anyone who may know. With the wiring loom for the power windows, where do I plug it into in my executive? I've pulled out the interior loom that runs to all 4 doors, the centre console for the power window mains switch and up behind the dash where you unplug the loom and it all comes out. But, There's nowhere to plug this into in my executive?

Or is there? What do I do?

Jason.
__________________
Some people get there ambitions mixed up with there abilities.
aquabat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-03-07, 16:43   #67
ZanSta
ALLSTAR UNION
 
ZanSta's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-02-06
Location: Melbourne, Werribee
Car: 300zx Z32tt J-Spec
Trader Rating: (3)
Send a message via MSN to ZanSta Send a message via Skype™ to ZanSta
bump i wanna know too
ZanSta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-07, 05:16   #68
Rogue-VL
Player
 
Join Date: 31-05-05
Location: NSW, Country
Car: 1JZ-GTE 88 VL
Trader Rating: (1)
Rear interior lights

Anyone got any pics or info on installing the rear interior lights for the Calais, as I am trying to install them in my SL
Rogue-VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-07, 14:18   #69
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue-VL
Anyone got any pics or info on installing the rear interior lights for the Calais, as I am trying to install them in my SL
I had some brackets CNC routed to suit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-08, 12:48   #70
Com_VC
Player
 
Join Date: 27-06-03
Location: Melbourne, south east suburbs
Car: VC Commodore
Trader Rating: (1)
Send a message via ICQ to Com_VC Send a message via MSN to Com_VC
Would it be possible to get a measurement for the rear reading lights? If someone can take a measurement from the back screw on the grab handle to the front of the interior light that would be a big help.

Thanks
Com_VC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-08, 18:15   #71
5spdvl
Aaaaaaand it's gone.
 
5spdvl's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-07-07
Location: VIC, City
Trader Rating: (22)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aquabat
This is a question for anyone who may know. With the wiring loom for the power windows, where do I plug it into in my executive? I've pulled out the interior loom that runs to all 4 doors, the centre console for the power window mains switch and up behind the dash where you unplug the loom and it all comes out. But, There's nowhere to plug this into in my executive?

Or is there? What do I do?

Jason.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZanSta
bump i wanna know too
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue-VL
Anyone got any pics or info on installing the rear interior lights for the Calais, as I am trying to install them in my SL
Even though your posts are all from more than 14 months ago, this may help someone else heading down this path.

SL and Executive model VLs have different body looms fitted to them. They do not allow for Calais options such as cruise control, power windows, power mirrors central locking, rear reading lights, and Calais pop ups to simply be "plugged in". Only Berlina (and obviously Calais) have the plugs that these options connect to the body loom via. This does not mean it cannot be done, but have your trusty soldering iron ready - there will be a lot of use for it.

Your best bet is to start with a Berlina, as everything will plug straight in.

This is also the reason why, when VLs were available for order from Holden, that Berlinas were able to be fitted with the Power Pack option (power windows, mirrors, and central locking - Berlinas come stock with cruise control, air conditioning, power steering, rear reading lights and automatic transmission).
5spdvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-10-10, 00:42   #72
hamisgood
Player
 
hamisgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: 09-02-10
Location: SA, Southern Suburbs
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to hamisgood
I know this is an extremely old thread, but i need help. So is there a plug under the dash of all Berlinas for the power windows? Cheers.
hamisgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-11, 08:44   #73
PSone
Player
 
PSone's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-08-10
Location: Adelaide, North As
Car: VLCT
Trader Rating: (4)
Nar mate there is no plug on berlina' it says so in this thread but i tried on my 87 berlina turbo and there was no such luck.. i had to solder mine in through the fuse box same as for the exec boys.. it bloomen hard but its worth the efort.. if you need any help drop me a pm asap as my car is not yet reasembled and i could tell ya what wire needs to go were and so on... Good luck to all those tryen this
PSone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.