CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Suspension, Brakes, Gearboxes, Diffs
GRUNT Performance

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 20-09-07, 10:04   #1
ı.н8.υ.
Player
 
Join Date: 05-11-06
Location: NSW, Dubbo
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Balance Problems

I've had my car dropped quite a fair bit, has been for a fair while now. It's about 4 to 5 inches lower in the back now than what it was standard, aswell as pretty damn low in the front-end too. Not a problem at all. I've got 18's fitted, and there's not one bit of scrubbing out or banging or anything (though the strut-braces would be keeping the car pretty solid).

Now I've recently went and had a wheel alignment and balance. The camber is at the max. apparently. If you look at my front wheels from the front, they are on a pretty big lean, not massive, though they are on a lean. I've had my wheels machine-balanced and aligned.

It's not the alignment that's giving me the headaches. It's the balance. As soon as I hit 80km/h the steering wheel starts shaking and shuttering pretty badly, though once I get to about 120km/h, the shaking is completely gone. The steering wheel only shakes and goes on between speeds of 80km/h and 120km/h.

The tyre specialists at the shop reckon "your wheel is still gonna have a slight shake in it as your car is just so low". Obviously, I can understand that.

I'm just after a few ideas on how I can fix this. --Camber-kit? Coil-overs? What would be the best option for me to go with? ...or is this just something that can never be fixed? As in, my wheels are just ****ed. ...I've got my doubts about it, as I'm pretty sure there'd be something on the market somewhere for this kind of problem, but then again, I could be wrong.

Thanks for any help.
__________________
i lōōk 'rōūnd ūr hōūse. būt there's nōthin' 2 steāl.
ı.н8.υ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-09-07, 13:09   #2
VLT-025
Liquer/Poker
 
VLT-025's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-03-06
Location: Adelaide, Your VL's birthplace...Don't knock it
Car: They have 4 wheels and aren't making me rich
Trader Rating: (25)
When I had the same problem it was because my 18's were a generic fitment. The wheel shop had not supplied the correct hub locator rings to centre the wheel properly (the hole in the centre of the wheel was slightly bigger than required for a commodore hub), so they weren't sitting exactly right on the hubs. It's a problem that doesn't show up when doing a balance/wheel alignment.

I don't know what wheels you have fitted and it might be a long shot, but worth looking into if they aren't factory commodore rims
__________________
W.T.B. MOMO "RACE" 350mm steering wheel in good condition
VLT-025 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-07, 01:14   #3
VLHERO
Player
 
VLHERO's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-05-05
Location: TAS, Hobart
Car: "Mini Aero"
Trader Rating: (9)
Put up a pic, I wanna see how low this thing is!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by hsvtrev
Putting a cannon on is like trying to enhance a fart with the top half of a coke bottle.
VLHERO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-09-07, 15:58   #4
Hingo
PM for GuardRolling
 
Hingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-03
Location: Brisbane, (Redlands)
Car: LEXUS IS200
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Hingo
I'd be looking more at your rack ends, tie rod ends... The knuckle on the rack end may be buggered... Caused mine to shake pretty violently...

have your wheels rebalanced by another tyre shop and see what happens...
.
Hingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-09-07, 15:31   #5
ı.н8.υ.
Player
 
Join Date: 05-11-06
Location: NSW, Dubbo
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Thanks for the help, I'm pretty sure it's play in the rack. All the nuts and bolts are done up tight, the tie-rod ends are fine.

I jacked the front up and pulled out the rack and had a look. To me there seems to be a bit of play, a bit too much. I've had it looked at by a mechanic and by a suspension centre here, and they both reckon I should get it adjusted out. I did run the pump dry a while back, the hose from the fill-up bottle down to the rack tore and completely fell out from both ends, causing a bearing in the pump to go dry and **** itself. I was moving it in and out of the shed with no power-steering fluid as I planned to get a new rack and pump, but it never happened... I dare say running it dry could have played a part in the problem I'm now facing.

Anyway, thanks for the help guys. Appreciate it.
__________________
i lōōk 'rōūnd ūr hōūse. būt there's nōthin' 2 steāl.

Last edited by ı.н8.υ.; 28-09-07 at 15:35.
ı.н8.υ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-07, 08:53   #6
Munro-
BLEH
 
Munro-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-02-04
Location: VIC, Mildura
Car: VLT
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Munro-
if they are on a lean it could be just tracking and its pretty violent up at those speeds and not very noticeable under. Do you have standard VL strut top or have you got aftermarkets? If you have standards I would probably recommend some VP adjustable strut tops to allow for the tyres to sit flat on the ground
Munro- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-09-07, 20:13   #7
Hingo
PM for GuardRolling
 
Hingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 05-10-03
Location: Brisbane, (Redlands)
Car: LEXUS IS200
Trader Rating: (18)
Send a message via MSN to Hingo
Tell me more abouts these VP strut tops bud????
Hingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 17:18   #8
Magnum06
Player
 
Magnum06's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-05-06
Location: NSW, Albury/Wodonga
Car: Ferrari 360 spider
Trader Rating: (3)
First time I hear of these VP strut tops. Straight bolt on are they?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by CALJAS88
just because they steal a car doesnt mean there scum.
Magnum06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 17:19   #9
Munro-
BLEH
 
Munro-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-02-04
Location: VIC, Mildura
Car: VLT
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Munro-
Fit in snuggly on mine. Also give you a heck of a lot more adjustment than stock VL ones.
Munro- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 18:01   #10
YEP_boost
UONP - We will kill you
 
YEP_boost's Avatar
 
Join Date: 16-01-05
Location: Melbourne, SUBURBIA
Car: VLCT/VY ADVENTRA LX8
Trader Rating: (36)
VB - VP Run the same strut top assemblies. Are you refering to KMAC tops as opposed to the std type. If it is a camber and caster issue KMACs will give you the adjustability. If you have a bad caster issue you could also look at adjustable lower front control rods/arms!
__________________
PRO STITCH INTERIORS.
CUSTOMS, REPAIRS, RESTORATION
VOTED 2008 SC TRIM OF THE YEAR
YEP_boost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-09-07, 21:05   #11
Munro-
BLEH
 
Munro-'s Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-02-04
Location: VIC, Mildura
Car: VLT
Trader Rating: (17)
Send a message via ICQ to Munro-
They are different than the VL ones because I was given 2 different prices.... The VL one was roughly $90 different.. I think they were $204

Just looked them up on nolathane... Standard ones are 44000/44001 the ones I have are the 44016

Last edited by Munro-; 30-09-07 at 21:07.
Munro- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 07:30   #12
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ı.н8.υ.
It's not the alignment that's giving me the headaches. It's the balance. As soon as I hit 80km/h the steering wheel starts shaking and shuttering pretty badly, though once I get to about 120km/h, the shaking is completely gone. The steering wheel only shakes and goes on between speeds of 80km/h and 120km/h.
I'd say you've got cheap chinnese wheels by the sounds to that. Check to see if tight hub locators are fitted and if plastic get steal ones made up as the plastic ones go off over time. I have had this problem on many cars and ended up either buying factory wheels or decent quality wheels (BBS, Simmons, Rial etc) Cheap wheels never balance up well

***If you have genuine Holden or HSV rims disregard this post***
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-07, 20:11   #13
ı.н8.υ.
Player
 
Join Date: 05-11-06
Location: NSW, Dubbo
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
I've only got the standard struts in now; used to have adjustable coil-overs in but I wrecked 'em completely when I had the accident a while back. I'll whack in the pair of adjustable strut-top mounts I've got here, get them adjusted up right and what-not, and see what happens. It makes sense...

If that aint helping, I guess I'll check out these wheels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by NZ EVLHSV
I'd say you've got cheap chinnese wheels by the sounds to that. Check to see if tight hub locators are fitted and if plastic get steal ones made up as the plastic ones go off over time. I have had this problem on many cars and ended up either buying factory wheels or decent quality wheels (BBS, Simmons, Rial etc) Cheap wheels never balance up well
They're BSA man. I paid 2 and a half grand for them brand-new, they don't wanna be some soft overseas bull****... Got me thinkin' now lol. Can you buy the steel hub locators straight out of a shop? Or am I gonna have to make them up? I've never seen them before...
__________________
i lōōk 'rōūnd ūr hōūse. būt there's nōthin' 2 steāl.
ı.н8.υ. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 06:27   #14
NZ EVLHSV
Player
 
NZ EVLHSV's Avatar
 
Join Date: 11-07-06
Location: NZ, Auckland
Car: Gen-F GTS
Trader Rating: (0)
You can buy them, but you may not be able to get them in the size you need. They need to be really tight, like when you undo the nuts the wheels still stay on tight

I bought off the shelf ones for my IS300, but had to get ones made up for my Holden. They improved it heaps, but in the end I sold the wheels and bought German made Rial wheels for the IS300 and factory HSV 19s for the Holden... all good now!
NZ EVLHSV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-07, 08:27   #15
turboluke
Official Member
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Brisbane, south
Car: e39, e30
Trader Rating: (10)
the best thing you can do your vl is too add more castor, this can be done with either adjustable strut tops or radius rods or both,
this alone was the best mod i have made to my vl, makes it want to drive straight and true at speed
turboluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 00:13.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.