CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Suspension, Brakes, Gearboxes, Diffs
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 27-02-11, 14:13   #1
blueredvl
Player
 
Join Date: 09-11-09
Location: QLD, sunshine coast
Car: VL Commodore Limited Edition
Trader Rating: (1)
R33 Manual question???

i converted vl rb30 from auto to manual with the 33 turbo box, my only problem is my speedo cable will not fit. Is there a part i need to buy for this to work? if so what and where. Thanks ppl
blueredvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-11, 18:59   #2
phantom_t
Player
 
phantom_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-04
Location: WA, Perth NOR
Car: VESSThunder,Vl Calais Series 2 rb25det, 1990 Vette
Trader Rating: (1)
Yes there is a speedo drive available at Nissan! think it is from a navara or something! but it is correct length!
People reckon speedo is still accurate! i yet to have it tested!

This is from a search on here!
5) Speedo drive - The MX7 box's speedo drive will slide straight into the R33 box, and reads accurately - no recallibration required. When you compare the electric R33 sender and teh VL unit the drive gears are different sizes, but the VL's is already callibrated for the VL's speedo, the gear inside the gearbox that drives it is the same between the MX7 and R33 box. Not sure if the MF5 speedo drive is any good or not. You could still buy the MX7 speedo drives from nissan last time i checked, part number is 32702-02G17 , and they call it a "pinion assembly"
__________________
Turbo Time, TuTuTuTuTuuuu
phantom_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-11, 19:10   #3
WYLDBOI
Rippin Skidz
 
WYLDBOI's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-05-10
Location: SA, Whyalla
Car: VZ SS Daily, VL SL RB30ET & VLCT :)
Trader Rating: (5)
yeah navara pinion assembly, i bought one for mine make sure ya ask for navara not holden, coz the holden pinion assembly is the same part number as the navara but twice the price lol, it should be around 60 bux.
__________________
And now we shall boost......
WYLDBOI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-11, 19:13   #4
ovq01
Gold Members
 
ovq01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-05
Location: QLD, BrIZveGaS
Car: 355 VQ Statesman, Vl Turbo, 4.2L Smoke Stack Patrol !
Trader Rating: (1)
d22 NARVAVR

Quote:
Originally Posted by WYLDBOI View Post
yeah navara pinion assembly, i bought one for mine make sure ya ask for navara not holden, coz the holden pinion assembly is the same part number as the navara but twice the price lol, it should be around 60 bux.
d22 narvara i have the item code if you want it
__________________
WRECKING:- VL CALAIS, BERLINA'S. Many parts available, just send me a PM or you can shoot me a text to 0432659900.
.
ovq01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-11, 19:24   #5
mr_vl86
Gold Members
 
mr_vl86's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-11-08
Location: Sydney, northen beaches
Car:
Trader Rating: (5)
Send a message via MSN to mr_vl86
yes can you post it up please
mr_vl86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-11, 19:33   #6
XCHASE
Gold Members
 
XCHASE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-07-08
Location: SA, Adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (19)
Keen for part No. also. Cheers
XCHASE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-11, 19:54   #7
ovq01
Gold Members
 
ovq01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-05
Location: QLD, BrIZveGaS
Car: 355 VQ Statesman, Vl Turbo, 4.2L Smoke Stack Patrol !
Trader Rating: (1)
pin assembly

Quote:
Originally Posted by XCHASE View Post
Keen for part No. also. Cheers
PART NUMBER - 3270202G17 = Pin assembly.. My dads mate works for nissan and trade is $41.00. The pin assebly is straight. You can buy the 90degree adaptors to go on the end they are around 100.00 off ebay. I am not using the 90degree adaptor i have just ran the speedo cable on a slightly different path sort of in a "S" shape. I have had no problems doing it this way, my speedo is fine and i havent had it caught on anything. You can also buy different cogs to go onto the pin assebly but i found the one that comes on it works good.
Hope it helps
__________________
WRECKING:- VL CALAIS, BERLINA'S. Many parts available, just send me a PM or you can shoot me a text to 0432659900.
ovq01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-11, 19:59   #8
XCHASE
Gold Members
 
XCHASE's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-07-08
Location: SA, Adelaide
Car:
Trader Rating: (19)
Thanks ovq01. I think theres a pin inside the speedo drive. If so im pretty sure im missing it. Coz obviously she aint working the speedo. If anyone has one let me know. Or ill go buy one.
XCHASE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-11, 13:54   #9
blueredvl
Player
 
Join Date: 09-11-09
Location: QLD, sunshine coast
Car: VL Commodore Limited Edition
Trader Rating: (1)
thanx for your help guys, but i have a problem. The nylon gear on the r33 electric pinion assembly is bigger than the nylon gear on the cable navara pinion ass. Question is have i got the wrong pinion ass? Funny thing is everything is correct except for the gear
blueredvl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-04-11, 15:00   #10
VlDUBC
MISMYVL
 
VlDUBC's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20-01-08
Location: Sydney, The suburbs...
Car: Silver Calais
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to VlDUBC
Yea it is abit bigger but it still works at first i didnt think it would but once you shove it in its okay

...i put my MX7 drive in and worked perfect...and its the same as the navara unit..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATMO_BT1 View Post
Ecotec V6 - 147kW (now sounds like a dying cow stuck in a vacuum cleaner)
don't do it
VlDUBC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-11, 07:26   #11
ovq01
Gold Members
 
ovq01's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-09-05
Location: QLD, BrIZveGaS
Car: 355 VQ Statesman, Vl Turbo, 4.2L Smoke Stack Patrol !
Trader Rating: (1)
Quote:
Originally Posted by blueredvl View Post
thanx for your help guys, but i have a problem. The nylon gear on the r33 electric pinion assembly is bigger than the nylon gear on the cable navara pinion ass. Question is have i got the wrong pinion ass? Funny thing is everything is correct except for the gear


works fine bud. you can even buy different cogs off nissan to suit when you run 19's or jump from the original 14's to 15's my car has always been 10kays out but thats ok im use to it lol
__________________
WRECKING:- VL CALAIS, BERLINA'S. Many parts available, just send me a PM or you can shoot me a text to 0432659900.
ovq01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-11, 20:23   #12
phantom_t
Player
 
phantom_t's Avatar
 
Join Date: 03-08-04
Location: WA, Perth NOR
Car: VESSThunder,Vl Calais Series 2 rb25det, 1990 Vette
Trader Rating: (1)
Gee that part number looks a lot like the number in my first post! LOL

I first thought that it wouldn´t fit as the gear is smaller, but guessing the gear in the box is on some sort of spring or something!?
__________________
Turbo Time, TuTuTuTuTuuuu
phantom_t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 00:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.