CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > calaisturbo.com.au > VL Non-Turbo Discussion
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 30-10-12, 18:26   #1
priceysVL
Gold Members
 
priceysVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-12
Location: Sydney, Northern Beaches
Car: 1988 A9Y VL Calais Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Coolant Temp Sensor Question

hello everyone

my vl has been playing up recently and running real rich and a lack of power and dead spots. Anyway, read all the common faults, checked afm, and replaced these things:
Coil pack
Dizzy
Plugs
TPS
and CTS.

Nothing changed and still have the same problems. Today i went to replace the cts with one i had off my engine here and the plug snapped the top half of the sensor in the plug. I left it unplugged and went for drive, and it felt like a new car. Idles smooth, plenty of power, cant smell fuel smell.

Will having it unplugged cause any damage?
Will it be harder to start in the mornings?

When it was connected the temp gauge sat just before the 2nd line now it sits right on half an never went any higher.

Any feedback will be great

Cheers James

Last edited by priceysVL; 30-10-12 at 19:05.
priceysVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-12, 18:48   #2
Ant_man
Player
 
Ant_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-03-12
Location: Adelaide, Somewhere cant read maps
Car: vl calais turbo , vs senator 215i 6 speed, vz ssz
Trader Rating: (0)
The single wire/ pin sensor is for the dash and the two pin sensor is for the ecu which have you left disconnected
Ant_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-12, 18:51   #3
priceysVL
Gold Members
 
priceysVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-12
Location: Sydney, Northern Beaches
Car: 1988 A9Y VL Calais Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
by having it unplugged will i run into any problems? I know it doesnt sound right having it unplugged
priceysVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-12, 19:02   #4
Ant_man
Player
 
Ant_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: 26-03-12
Location: Adelaide, Somewhere cant read maps
Car: vl calais turbo , vs senator 215i 6 speed, vz ssz
Trader Rating: (0)
I would assume the ecu will log a fault code and possible put it into limp mode , stick with the original plan of replacing the cps with spare from other motor and clear ecu then see how car runs

---------- Post added 30-10-12 at 19:33 ----------

To clear ecu remove batt terminal and pump brake pedal so lights remove any residual voltage
.
Ant_man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-10-12, 19:06   #5
priceysVL
Gold Members
 
priceysVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-12
Location: Sydney, Northern Beaches
Car: 1988 A9Y VL Calais Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
the plug that snapped was off another sensor i tried. It runs so much better with it unplugged?!!?!?! Fault with the wiring?
priceysVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-10-12, 23:56   #6
Turismo
Gold Members
 
Turismo's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-11-10
Location: WA, Pilbara Karratha
Car: VE Berlina Daily
Trader Rating: (2)
Un-plugged... mate it will dump fule in lol so u may have crap in your fule filter or try replace your afm mate.

---------- Post added 01-11-12 at 00:06 ----------

or maybe it runs lean but its fule related. The CTS works on resistance so wiring should not be an issue uf itr reacting when plugged in/out.

Wipe your computer memmory

plug every thing back in as per factory arrangements and take her for a drive

performe a diagnostic and go from there
Turismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-12, 09:18   #7
priceysVL
Gold Members
 
priceysVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-07-12
Location: Sydney, Northern Beaches
Car: 1988 A9Y VL Calais Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
I learnt the hard way. Wouldn't drive in the morning. Getting rid of it
priceysVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-12, 19:04   #8
RB30DEVL
Player
 
RB30DEVL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 30-08-02
Location: NSW, Newcastle
Car: VY SS Commodore
Trader Rating: (0)
re- CTS

Quote:
Will having it unplugged cause any damage?
Will it be harder to start in the mornings?
Leaving a coolant temp sensor unplugged for a prolonged period will shorten the life of the engine and emission control components such as catalytic converters, it wouldn't make the car harder to start in the mornings.

It will also destroy fuel economy, if it's running bad when plugged it , it sounds like the sensor is shorted and making the engine run too lean, replace it with a new one,they are available new aftermarket from an auto store or maybe E-bay so you don't have to go to Holden or Nissan to get one, they probably wouldn't stock them any more anyway and would cost a fortune if they did.

I don't see any VL's in the wreckers any more though there may be the rare in in there, check the connections for corrosion too, if they are, replace the plug, I got mine from Auto Amp in Newcastle when the CTS went on the RB30DE engine in the VL, I just fitted an RB30E one in its place, you have to get the Japanese style connector because the locating notch is in a different spot to say the one on a VN Commodore which has a Bosch style connector.

I'm not sure how the older ECU's like the one in the VL worked but the LS1 in my VY Commodore has programmed into it a 5 minute time frame which allows the engine warm up and get into closed loop mode, if it doesn't go into closed loop mode after that then the check engine warning symbol comes up on the dash.

That's happening at the moment to my car, the passenger side o2 sensor is dead and hopefully that Bosch unit will arrive tomorrow.
RB30DEVL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-12, 19:10   #9
bachig24u
Player
 
bachig24u's Avatar
 
Join Date: 12-04-10
Location: NSW, Austral
Car: VL Calais
Trader Rating: (2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by priceysVL View Post
hello everyone

my vl has been playing up recently and running real rich and a lack of power and dead spots. Anyway, read all the common faults, checked afm, and replaced these things:
Coil pack
Dizzy
Plugs
TPS
and CTS.

Nothing changed and still have the same problems. Today i went to replace the cts with one i had off my engine here and the plug snapped the top half of the sensor in the plug. I left it unplugged and went for drive, and it felt like a new car. Idles smooth, plenty of power, cant smell fuel smell.

Will having it unplugged cause any damage?
Will it be harder to start in the mornings?

When it was connected the temp gauge sat just before the 2nd line now it sits right on half an never went any higher.

Any feedback will be great

Cheers James
To answer the question, you need to know what model ECU is installed in the car. whether it be R31 or 3EM/3EA or 3TA/3TM or aftermarket.

The NA ECU's run different CTS routines than the VLT ones.
__________________
Simon
http://www.jps.net.au
tuners [at] jps.net.au
ECU Calibration Engineer - Tuner
bachig24u is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 15:25.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.