CalaisTurbo New Tags
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Technical > Engines, Turbos, Exhausts, Intercoolers
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 05-04-04, 21:12   #1
Mr VL
Player
 
Mr VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-12-03
Location: Sydney, St George
Car: Gathering Funds for a VLt
Trader Rating: (0)
Transmission Oil Change

How do i change the transmission oil in my rb30? i'm a lil low on cash and didnt wanna pay sum bloke to do it, so i thought i'd do it myself. lil help any1?
cant be too hard.. i've jus done my motor oil. cheers
__________________
Only Milk & Juice Comes In Under 2 Litres
Mr VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-04, 22:06   #2
jordy
Caps lock technician
 
jordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-08-02
Location: Brisbane, North
Car: '87 Calais turbo, Yamaha FZ8N
Trader Rating: (6)
Send a message via MSN to jordy
For an auto, unbolt the transmission pan and the trans fluid will come out. Get a new gasket for when the pan goes back on. Filter can be re-used because it's metal and not paper, so take the filter off and clean it up. You'll see the filter when you take the pan off. Re-fill trans by pouring into a funnel through the dipstick tube (at the drivers side rear of the engine bay).
__________________
Don't drink drive, it's washing powder!
jordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-04, 09:27   #3
Walkinshaw wagon
Player
 
Walkinshaw wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-10-02
Location: Auckland, NOO ZEELAND
Car: RED Walky Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Walkinshaw wagon
GIVE IT A FLUSH

seriously a flush is the best idea. it actually gets all the shyt out were as draining it doesnt do much at all.

FLUSH IT!
__________________
Jaguars: theyre like Holdens of the UK
Walkinshaw wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-04, 21:31   #4
Mr VL
Player
 
Mr VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-12-03
Location: Sydney, St George
Car: Gathering Funds for a VLt
Trader Rating: (0)
trans oil change

Do i flush it with new transmission oil? how do i go about that?
__________________
Only Milk & Juice Comes In Under 2 Litres
.
Mr VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-04, 23:01   #5
Midz
Player
 
Midz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Sydney, In the loop
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
u might wanna adjust the bands while ur there.
__________________
How can my car be unroadworthy if it can do a burnout? Sik moite ;)
Midz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-04, 23:48   #6
turboluke
Official Member
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Brisbane, south
Car: e39, e30
Trader Rating: (10)
bands are simple with a torque wrench if you are confident. if not then you can drain sump by simply removing modulator then putting it back when empty, refill via dipstick
turboluke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 12:22   #7
Walkinshaw wagon
Player
 
Walkinshaw wagon's Avatar
 
Join Date: 28-10-02
Location: Auckland, NOO ZEELAND
Car: RED Walky Wagon
Trader Rating: (0)
Send a message via MSN to Walkinshaw wagon
wot the guys do is the plug a transmission flushing machine in and FLUSH new fluid in in turn sending the old fluid out and all the crap with it.

youll need to see a workshop which has a flushing machine or more preferably a transmission specialist!

i flushed through bout 8 litres of the stuff when i flushed mine. just draining it out of the sump didnt do the trrick!
__________________
Jaguars: theyre like Holdens of the UK
Walkinshaw wagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-04, 20:37   #8
paco
Player
 
Join Date: 07-03-04
Location: Adelaide, Western subs
Car: vl calais n/a series I and ser II vl berlina
Trader Rating: (0)
i recommend just doing a trans service first, buy a trans filter kit from the parts store. Remove the bolts fromt he trans pan and remove pan, the oil then drains, all over the place usually. remove the bolts that hold the trans filter in and remove the filter. REPLACE the filter and fit the new gasket and bolt trans pan back up, dont over tighten bolts. start filling the trans back up with dex III. run the car and shift the trans through all the gears two or three times and recheck the dipstick and top up as needed. Drive the car around the block and make sure the trans goes through all the gears, recheck after the test drive. Transmission flushes are the way to go, but are more expensive to do, and you cant do them at home unless you have the flushing machine. this is better because you actually flush the whole system, the cooler, lines ect. but there is nothing wrong with just the basic service. I have a vl calais and i do the service every twenty thousand ks. have 200,ooo ks on the clock and the trans shifts like its new

good luck
paco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 00:23   #9
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
good info there paco, that's pretty much everything you need to do right there! it's pretty simple stuff once you've done it once, i incorporated a stage II shift kit into one of my transmission services (you have to take the valve body out to install the shift kit, hence new oil and filter at the same time) and it shifts hard and fast, just like a new transmission.......only better! done over 200 000 k's and still working beautifully. downshifts hard and crisp from 3rd to 2nd, no rev flare any more. best $66 you can ever spend!
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 00:29   #10
Midz
Player
 
Midz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Sydney, In the loop
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Did get the larger servo to ?
__________________
How can my car be unroadworthy if it can do a burnout? Sik moite ;)
Midz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 07:17   #11
Mr VL
Player
 
Mr VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-12-03
Location: Sydney, St George
Car: Gathering Funds for a VLt
Trader Rating: (0)
thanx 4 all the suggestions guys, very helpful indeed! i think i'll jus take it to my mechanic and get them to do it.. saves me all the hassle and what not if i f*ck up.
cheers
__________________
Only Milk & Juice Comes In Under 2 Litres
Mr VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 09:12   #12
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
saves hassle, not money.
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 09:56   #13
Midz
Player
 
Midz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Sydney, In the loop
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Also

Make sure when u get ur transmission serviced, get the bands adjusted... Also make sure they actually use a torque wrench, not make it tight then twist it back 2.
__________________
How can my car be unroadworthy if it can do a burnout? Sik moite ;)
Midz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 10:03   #14
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
yes! it's very important to get them correctly torqued. i adjusted mine myself to the factory specs and 2nd was slipping a bit under load...... so i talked to a transmission specialist (transman) and he advised me to torque it a little harder (3-4nm) and back off less turns (1 3/4 instead of 2) to allows the oil to fill this thing quicker..... didn't understand it but it sure as hell worked.
StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 10:05   #15
Midz
Player
 
Midz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Sydney, In the loop
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Does anyone have the torque stats ?

Well the adjusted torque ratings, im going to be adjusting my bands soon.
__________________
How can my car be unroadworthy if it can do a burnout? Sik moite ;)
Midz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 12:01   #16
StockyMcStock
NEED A NEW AVATAR
 
StockyMcStock's Avatar
 
Join Date: 02-08-03
Location: Melbourne, North
Car: Twincharged RB30DE
Trader Rating: (7)
here are the specified torque settings for the overdrive and 2nd gear bands. sorry for the large size, but i was too lazy to resize them. both images (i think) are probably copyright of Paul Keas. i hope he doesn't mind me putting em up here, but it's pretty commonly known information anyway.



StockyMcStock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-04, 15:10   #17
Midz
Player
 
Midz's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Sydney, In the loop
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
Thanks very much that explained heaps, pictures were really wat i needed.

Thanks transman also
__________________
How can my car be unroadworthy if it can do a burnout? Sik moite ;)
Midz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-07-04, 00:23   #18
busted
Player
 
Join Date: 05-01-04
Location: VIC, melb & perth
Car: vl turbo
Trader Rating: (1)
when you take the pan off, dump and dump all the tranny fluid, how much tranny fluid should the auto box require roughly.

My dipstick seems to give me BULL**** readings all the time (i could dump all the fluid, add a litre and it will read all the way past full no matter how long its had to settle or sit in drive etc).

Tomorrow im going to dump it all and i just want a rough estimate of how much fluid id have to put back in.

thanks
busted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 00:53   #19
HYBRID VL
Player
 
HYBRID VL's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-11-03
Location: Sydney, Bankstown Area
Car: 87 VL Calais Turbo RB25/30 HYBRID
Trader Rating: (2)
Send a message via ICQ to HYBRID VL Send a message via MSN to HYBRID VL
wat about for a manual transmission how do you do that???

can it be done while still on the car.

its just my shifts are crunchy and i dont think its the box cause its only gets like it after abit of use so im think wen the oil gets a bit hot or somthin.
HYBRID VL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 09:00   #20
duz360
VOTE 1 HORSELL COMMON
 
duz360's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-04
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car: muppet mobile
Trader Rating: (79)
Send a message via MSN to duz360
manual.
there is a drain plug under the box.1/2" drive breaker bar will remove it
drain fluid.
replace plug
on the side there is another plug.remove it.
now here is the fun part.refilling
i found the easiest way to refill was to get a bit long hose,1/2" at least and a funnel[coke bottle] whatever works and replicate the auto trans filler
ie. run it up into the engine bay over the bell housing and fill from there
__________________
extreme turbo manifolds 0242 628774
used by australia's fastest 7.98@171 BOOSTN
duz360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 09:01   #21
duz360
VOTE 1 HORSELL COMMON
 
duz360's Avatar
 
Join Date: 04-06-04
Location: NSW, wollongong
Car: muppet mobile
Trader Rating: (79)
Send a message via MSN to duz360
oh.then replace the plug!
__________________
extreme turbo manifolds 0242 628774
used by australia's fastest 7.98@171 BOOSTN
duz360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 09:18   #22
aus880
Gold Members
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: International, Worldwide
Car:
Trader Rating: (27)
I thought VLs should use Dexron II not III ?

I'm changing mine soon so can anyone confirm?
__________________
Classic Pursuit Vehicles

www.Facebook.com/cpv.com.au
"Real cars, real history"
aus880 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 09:43   #23
jordy
Caps lock technician
 
jordy's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-08-02
Location: Brisbane, North
Car: '87 Calais turbo, Yamaha FZ8N
Trader Rating: (6)
Send a message via MSN to jordy
Dexron II is the recommended in the book, but Dexron III works just as well. I don't think you can even find Dexron II fluid any more. If you can somehow manage to buy some, then go for it.
__________________
Don't drink drive, it's washing powder!
jordy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 10:09   #24
ERO30T
Player
 
ERO30T's Avatar
 
Join Date: 15-04-04
Location: NSW, Sydney
Car: aero calais turbo, NA 86 skyline
Trader Rating: (0)
Is Dexron synthetic oil? is synthetic oil worth while in a stock box?
__________________
Full restoration inside out aim for 300kws
ERO30T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-07-04, 20:33   #25
Red RB30 Jet
Player
 
Red RB30 Jet's Avatar
 
Join Date: 20-06-02
Location: Melbourne, Melbourne.
Car: VL
Trader Rating: (8)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aus880
I thought VLs should use Dexron II not III ?

I'm changing mine soon so can anyone confirm?
Dexron 2 has been superseeded, You can still buy a similar blend called TRANSMAX made by castrol if my memory serves me right.

I just use castol Dexron 3 in my auto and I should really change it too but it's a messy job and at the moment don't have much time to do it.

I just buy a service kit which has fliter and pan gasket and just dump the old fluid out, install the new filter and pan gasket then refill the auto.
I never adjust the bands. I leave that to the professionals ie.Keas.
Red RB30 Jet is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 16:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger