CalaisTurbo New Tags END Ignore Digital Niche Code -->
User Name: Password:

Go Back   calaisturbo.com.au > Regional Events > South Australia
JD CUSTOM

Reply

 

Thread Tools
Old 27-02-11, 15:16   #1
xctmnt8
Player
 
xctmnt8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-03-05
Location: Adelaide, Northern Suburbs
Car: Starship Voyager
Trader Rating: (3)
Good Auto Elec

Folks,

I am after a decent Auto Elec, preferably North of the city (will travel tho for a decent one).

My VT has a issue with the TPS (low voltage) and i am F*&ked if i know what the problem is, local Holden Dealer palmed it off and suggested i take it to a Auto Elec.

Have replaced the TPS, three times and all sensors around and plugs around it seem to be good.

Or if anyone on here knows someone who is auto elec minded, would be great.

Cheers,
Steve
xctmnt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 15:59   #2
Blink
Sensible Since 21/05/2009
 
Blink's Avatar
 
Join Date: 18-02-05
Location: Adelaide, Glenelg, SA
Car: RB30ET
Trader Rating: (21)
Send a message via MSN to Blink
Razza's Auto Electrical at Melrose Park on South Road is awesome.

Daniel is a gun, but bit of a distance.
Blink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 18:36   #3
RVK 355
Player
 
RVK 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-07
Location: Adelaide, east
Car: GM671 Blown 308 VK calais, 500HP 355 VK calais, injected 5L VK calais, VR SS Daily
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to RVK 355
LOL typical holden dealers.

what motor is in it, you can perferably take it to a place that specialises in them and that can actually fault find a problem. eg a tunner who is switched on with wiring.
RVK 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 18:38   #4
panther
Player
 
Join Date: 23-02-11
Location: Adelaide, East
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
when you replaced the TPS im taking it you ersed the codes from the computer?

After that the main issues with low voltage is a earth somewhere or a break in the loom. Best trace it back as far as you can, check for continuity using a multimeter. Also check the volts coming out of the TPS. Make sure you check the pins in the plug that goes onto the TPS, they have a habbit or corroding or "breaking".

If all above seems ok, check ECU, pins always corrode in them. Just remove the plug at the rear of the ECU (10mm bolt i think) and pull the plug off, check for corrosion. If so use some "contact cleaner" to spray the back of the plug (make sure its not connected and dry before connecting again). Also check the board of the ECU by removing the 4-6 screws holding the case together. Inspect the board for any burnt chips, diodes cracked solder etc.

a big question here is does it run on gas or gas and fuel?
Is there a running issue or just throwing the engine check light up.
(as in: running rich, rough, idle hunting up and down between revs, stalling etc)

Is there any other codes in it: e.g. Body Control Module etc?

---------- Post added 27-02-11 at 19:11 ----------

and if you get really stuck you can bring it to me and ill fix for some low $$ minus parts
.

Last edited by panther; 27-02-11 at 18:41.
panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 18:55   #5
EVLRB30
9.11@153.11 33psi
 
EVLRB30's Avatar
 
Join Date: 29-01-09
Location: SA, country
Trader Rating: (4)
like said about check resistance between connector and ecu, i my self have seen issues like this before people replacing tps after tps only to find the connector on the ecu has corrosion in so check the connector and pins for signs of corrosion (greeny fuzz) and clean off with contact cleaner, done this to a car at work and havnt had a issue since
EVLRB30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 18:59   #6
xctmnt8
Player
 
xctmnt8's Avatar
 
Join Date: 07-03-05
Location: Adelaide, Northern Suburbs
Car: Starship Voyager
Trader Rating: (3)
Cheers fellas. Its a trusty holden 5L with no engine mods.

It runs straight fuel.

Engine check light usually remains on, there are some instances where cruising that it will go out, but slight acceleration brings it back on.

The only symptoms so far, shifts hard from 1st to 2nd, short changes and has no kick back.

It only throws up one code, 22 from memory which is low voltage to TPS.

Cheers Panther, i will have a look at what you have suggested, and get back to you.

Cheers
xctmnt8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-11, 19:53   #7
panther
Player
 
Join Date: 23-02-11
Location: Adelaide, East
Car:
Trader Rating: (0)
sounds like a short to me, but check for built up of crap on plugs/ecu etc first.
panther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-11, 07:49   #8
sir calais
Bling Bling Member
 
sir calais's Avatar
 
Join Date: 19-06-02
Location: Adelaide, South
Car: VK Calais 5.0 EI - GMH304, VY SV8 Daily
Trader Rating: (3)
Razz Auto Elec
sir calais is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-11, 18:18   #9
RVK 355
Player
 
RVK 355's Avatar
 
Join Date: 10-01-07
Location: Adelaide, east
Car: GM671 Blown 308 VK calais, 500HP 355 VK calais, injected 5L VK calais, VR SS Daily
Trader Rating: (4)
Send a message via MSN to RVK 355
as the fellas said about fault finding

but since its a holden 5L, if you can take it to awsome automotive, leon will fualt find and fix that **** in no time, he literally knows the wirring on these motors like the back of his hand.
RVK 355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 01:59.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Ad Management plugin by RedTyger