View Full Version : IRS VLT using r33 rear subframe?

2invl
07-08-02, 01:09
Hey guys,

Just wanting an opinion,

I am thinking about putting a R33 gts-t skyline rear end complete under my vlt. IRS, stronger viscus LSD, adjustable camber, adjustable coilovers, larger twin spot brakes, HICAS (RWS, not that it will be used), and i should beable to run wider tires, 245's. I have one availible to me for a reasonable price and i'm a fairly handy engineer.
I'm building the car for street/semi-race.
I've checked it out and basic measurements show it should fit and is within a couple of mm hub to hub.
It's been done before and the car past engineers (artical on calaisturbo.com) but it lives near me, a mate has worked on it!

What do ya's think? waste of time? Interested?

It would be cool :)

SIRGMH
07-08-02, 08:32
If its not going to cost you too much go for it... I would be different and would be alot better all round to drive.. and launch!! :D

darkstar
07-08-02, 09:13
its been done before, but using a cefiro IRS setup (japans maxima i think)

http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~logic/carpage2/22.html

few pictures and what not there. IF you were to do it, you would have to be extremely careful, and i mean laser precision. If your off by a few degrees, the car could spinout, or not travel in a straight line, etc. Not good when you want to use it as a drag/track car.

Also, there would be other factors to look at, such as brakes and studpattern. you might have to change the whole brake system, or key components, to get a good feel and not loose stability under brakes. Donforget that the r33 has a different studpattern to the holdens, so you would have to sort out how your still going to retain the holden studpattern and so forth. maybe some engineered hubs etc are the go for this.